AFN Axe Brume, Egwero As Okagbare Tops List

AFN Axe Brume, Egwero As Okagbare Tops List

—Nigeria Release New 17-Man List For IAAF World Championships

By Dare Esan:

Reigning Commonwealth long jump queen, Ese Brume, and Nigeria’s best sprinter in the last six years, Ogho-Oghene Egwero, have been axed from the team that will represent Nigeria at the 15th IAAF World Championships which holds from 22 August to 30 August in Beijing, China.

Also axed is 110m hurdler Tyron Akins who, like Brume, only qualified for the championships by virtue of being the reigning African champion in his event.

Brume has looked ordinary since her double triumph in Glasgow at the Commonwealth Games and Marrakech, Morocco at the African Championships last year.

She holds a personal season’s best of 6.61m, a clear 9cm off the entry standard of 6.70m set by the IAAF for the event.

Akins, the American-turned-Nigerian also holds a personal season’s best (13.58 seconds) way below the 13.47 seconds standard set for the sprint hurdles event.

While the exclusion of the duo of Brume and Akins could be attributed to their indifferent performance in the on-going season, Egwero made the original list

based on the fact that he met the 10.16 seconds standard set by the IAAF. He holds a personal season’s best of 10.15 seconds set barely two months ago in Rheinau-Freistett, a town in southwestern Baden-Württemberg, Germany. gathered that the Athletic Federation of Nigeria felt he (Egwero) could not make it to the podium in Beijing and are confident another ‘imported American’, Lindsay Lindley, who first represented Nigeria at the African Championships in Morocco without stepping on Nigeria’s soil as demanded by the IAAF eligibility rules would miraculously run a 12.4,12.5 that should be enough for a podium appearance albeit when she has only broken 13 seconds once in her career and that was way back in April at the Mount San Anthonio relays in Walnut, California, USA where she ran 12.97 seconds.

Meanwhile double Commonwealth Games champion, Blessing Okagbare, as expected made the revised list. She will participate in the 100, 200m and 4x100m while Doreen Amata (high jump), Amaka Ogoegbunam (400m hurdles), Lindley (100m hurdles), Uhunoma Naomi Osazuwa (Heptathlon), Regina George (400m), Patience Okon George (400m) and Tosin Adeloye (400m) make up the eight Nigerian ladies who will participate in individual events.

The revised list has only three men viz former Commonwealth triple jump king, Tosin Oke who hopped, stepped and jumped 16.98m at the national trials in Warri penultimate week to book a place in the plane to Beijing; Miles Ukaoma who ran the first sub-49 seconds (48.84 seconds) in the 400m hurdles on Nigerian soil at the national trials and new kid on the block,Tega Odele whose mouth-gaping 20.47 seconds run in Warri on July 31st remains the fastest time returned by a Nigerian since Uchenna Emedolu ran 20.39 seconds in 2004.