HomeNews UpdateLife Style

Akwa Ibom Stadium Nominated For Stadium Of The Year Award

Akwa Ibom Stadium Nominated For Stadium Of The Year Award

Nigeria’s most modern stadium is nominated to become Stadium of the Year 2014. Everyone can help their favourite stadium reach for success.

The Akwa Ibom International Stadium is among venues nominated for Stadium of the Year award. The current edition includes 32 major stadiums opened in 2014. 8 are located in Brazil, three in the USA, while Hungary and Poland each have two nominees.


“It’s great to see a new stadium for Nigeria to be proud of. Its white outer cladding and illumination also make it stand out globally and become a true landmark for Uyo,” says Grzegorz Kaliciak, founder of StadiumDB.com, organizer of the competition.

Now stadium enthusiasts from around the world can vote to select their Stadium of the Year. Each Internet user may vote only once by selecting five most favourite stadia. Within the first 4 days over 25,000 people have given their vote through dedicated online platform. The vote is open until February 17.

A separate vote is ran by the competition Jury, consisting of famous architects from five countries. Bob van Bebber and Mike Bell from South Africa designed stadiums of the 2010 World Cup, while Bruno Campos from Brazil was one of the architects of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil. The Jury also consists of John Bontinck (Belgium), Bryan Roe (Ireland) and Serban Tiganas (Romania).

The Public Vote and Jury Vote awards will both be announced on February 19.

Stadium of the Year is held every year in January and February by Stadiony.net and StadiumDB.com, two websites dedicated solely to sports stadiums. Current edition is already the fifth one. Previous winners include Aviva Stadium (2010), PGE Arena Gdansk (2011), Gremio Arena (2012) and Ghelamco Arena (2013).

Stadium of the Year is not a commercial competition. It’s an independent project organized to establish the most appreciated stadiums worldwide. Should you require any further information about the competition or have additional questions, please contact Michal Karas at [email protected]


Copyright © 2022 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.