HomeNews Update

Amokachi Names Eagles Squad For Bolivia, S/Africa Friendlies

Amokachi Names Eagles Squad For Bolivia, S/Africa Friendlies

–Ideye, Ujah, Balogun, Ogu Return; Uche Brothers Miss Out, Moses On Standby
By Izuchukwu Okosi (@izuchukwu_okosi):

Super Eagles assistant coach Daniel Amokachi has picked a a 28-man squad for Nigeria’s international friendlies against Bolivia and South Africa on March 26 and 29, 2015.

Skipper Vincent Enyeama leads the cast of Eagles stars to prosecute the games and is joined by the likes of Ahmed Musa, Godfrey Oboabona, Kenneth Omeruo, Omatsone Aluko, Azubuike Egwuekwe and Ogenyi Onazi.

Making their returns in the Eagles fold are Anthony Ujah, Brown Ideye, Leon Balogun, Babatunde Michael, Aaron Samuel and John Ogu while conspicuously missing from the list are Villarreal striker Ikechukwu Uche and his on-form brother, Kalu, who now plays for Levante, in the La Liga.


Stoke City forward Victor Moses was only listed for a standby spot due to injury concerns while Watford FC striker Jude Odion Ighalo earns a call up to the senior national team for the first time following a great season with the Championship side.

Enyeama will make a milestone when as expected, he leads the Eagles out against Bolivia as he is set to earn his 100th cap for the Nigerian national side.

Overall 18 overseas-based and 10 home-based professionals made the list, with former junior international Akeem Latifu and Enyimba duo Kingsley Sokari and Mfon Udoh also called.

The players, according to the Nigeria Football Federation official website, are expected to report at the Le Meridien Hotel, Uyo on Monday, 23rd March for theMarch 26 clash with Bolivia, with the squad heading to South Africa on Friday, March 27 for the battle with the Bafana Bafana in Nelspruit on Sunday, March 29.


GOALKEEPERS: Vincent Enyeama (Lille OSC, France); Theophilus Afelokhai (Kano Pillars); Chidiebere Eze (Ifeanyi Ubah United)

DEFENDERS: Chima Akas (Sharks FC); Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor FC, Turkey); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves); Nelson Ogbonnaya (Heartland FC); Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough FC, England); Akeem Latifu (Aalesunds FC, Norway); Leon Balogun (Darmstadt 98, Germany)

MIDFIELDERS: Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Steven Ukoh (Biel-Bienne FC, Switzerland); Omatsone Aluko (Hull City, England); Hope Akpan (Reading FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Babatunde Michael (Volyn Lutsk, Ukraine); Joseph Nathaniel (Sharks FC); Kingsley Sokari (Enyimba FC)

FORWARDS: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Aaron Samuel (Guangzhou R&F, China); Brown Ideye (West Brom, England); Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Anthony Ujah (FC Cologne, Germany); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Ubong Moses (Kano Pillars); Stanley Dimgba (Warri Wolves); Mfon Udoh (Enyimba FC); Standby – Victor Moses (Stoke City, England)

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.