Argentina And Britain Land Davis Cup Passes

Argentina And Britain Land Davis Cup Passes

Argentina and Great Britain, two recent Davis Cup winners, have been handed wildcards for next year’s revamped 18-team finals.

They will join reigning champions France, finalists Croatia, Spain and United States and 12 other nations, who will secure their places from a dozen qualifying ties which are to be drawn on Wednesday in London and will be staged in February.

The Davis Cup steering committee have given 2016 champions Argentina and 2015 winners Britain a straight pass into the finals, which will take place in either Lille or Madrid.

Related: Benneteau Re-Works Schedule For Davis Cup Tilt

Australia and Switzerland, the highest-ranked unseeded nations that lost in the 2018 World Group playoffs, will take their place as seeded nations in the qualifiers.

Barcelona and Spain soccer player Gerard Pique, whose investment company Kosmos have implemented the changes to the team event alongside the International Tennis Federation, is on the steering committee.

Former Spanish player Galo Blanco, ITF president David Haggerty and ITF vice president Rene Stammbach are also responsible for the allocation of the wildcards to two nations with a rich Davis Cup history and a bit of star power.

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.