ARSENAL VS CHELSEA: Six Nigerian FA Cup Winners To Inspire Iwobi, Moses

ARSENAL VS CHELSEA: Six Nigerian FA Cup Winners To Inspire Iwobi, Moses


On Saturday, Super Eagles duo Victor Moses and Alex Iwobi will hope to join the long list of English FA Cup winners when Arsenal face Chelsea in the final at Wembley.

Ahead of the final between the London rivals, Completesportsnigeria.com's JAMES AGBEREBI lists six Nigerians who have won the oldest cup competition in the world…

JOHN FASHANU (Wimbledon: 1988)

Zenith Ziva

Described as one of the greatest upsets in FA Cup history, John Fashanu and his Wimbledon teammates known then as the "Crazy Gang" stunned Liverpool 1-0 to win the 1988 FA Cup final at Wembley Stadium.

Fashanu starred in the final against Liverpool, playing the full 90 minutes for Wimbledon. Prior to the 1988 FA Cup final, Fashanu had scored 11 goals in the league.

Liverpool had already been crowned league champions and were looking to make it a double by adding the FA Cup. But a Lawrie Sanchez header off a free-kick from Dennis Wise secured Wimbledon their first and only FA Cup trophy.

DANIEL AMOKACHI (Everton: 1995)

Daniel Amokachi was instrumental in Everton's 1995 FA Cup triumph which they won by upsetting favourites Manchester United 1-0 in the final.

In the final, Amokachi was brought on in the 69th minute as Paul Rideout's 30th minute goal gave Everton the win.

In the semi-final against Tottenham at Elland Road, Amokachi who came on as a second half substitute, scored two goals in a 4-1 win for Everton.

The 1995 FA Cup win was the last time Everton won any major laurel.



Chelsea won their second FA Cup in four seasons following a 1-0 win against Aston Villa in the final in 2000.

The only goal of the game was scored by Roberto Di Matteo in the 73rd minute.

In action for Chelsea was former Nigeria international Celestine Babayaro who featured for 90 minutes.

Babayaro was in the Chelsea team that faced Arsenal in the 2002 FA Cup final but ended up on the losing side as Arsenal won 2-0.

He was replaced by John Terry on the stroke of half-time.


NWANKWO KANU (Arsenal: 2002, 2003, Portsmouth: 2008)

Legendary striker Nwankwo Kanu could be described as one of Nigeria's most successful players when it comes to the FA Cup.

While at Arsenal, Kanu won the FA Cup in 2002 and 2003 and added a third while at Portsmouth in 2008.

In the 2002 final against Chelsea which Arsenal won 2-0, Kanu was introduced for Thierry Henry in the 81st minute.

Against Southampton in the 2003 final which Arsenal won 1-0, Kanu was an unused substitute.

However, the 2008 final would go down as a memorable one for Kanu as he scored the only goal as Portsmouth beat Cardiff City 1-0. 


JOHN UTAKA (Portsmouth: 2008)

Another Nigerian who featured in the 2008 FA Cup final alongside Nwankwo Kanu was John Utaka.

Utaka started the final against Cardiff and provided the assist which Kanu converted from close range.

He would later be replaced by David Nuggent in the 69th minute.

However in the 2010 FA Cup final, Utaka, together with Kanu would suffer FA Cup heartbreak as Chelsea edged Portsmouth 1-0.

MIKEL OBI (Chelsea: 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012)

  Mikel Obi holds the record as Nigeria's most successful FA Cup winner after winning four finals with Chelsea.

Mikel's first taste of FA Cup glory was in 2007 when Chelsea pipped Manchester United 1-0 after extra-time thanks to Didier Drogba's goal. Mikel played throughout the game.

In the 2009 final against Everton, Mikel was in action for 90 minutes as goals from Drogba and Frank Lampard cancelled out Louis Saha's early strike to give Chelsea a 2-1 win.

Unfortunately, in the 2010 final against Portsmouth which Chelsea won 1-0, Mikel did not play due to injury.

But Mikel was back in the starting eleven for the 2012 final against Liverpool and played 90 minutes as Chelsea won 2-1.  

completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.