Awoniyi, Amuzie, 18 Others Listed For Suwon Tourney

Awoniyi, Amuzie, 18 Others Listed For Suwon Tourney

By James Agberebi:

Taiwo Awoniyi, Emmanuel Daniel, Azubuike Okechukwu and Usman Mohammed top the Nigeria U-23s 20-man list for next month’s Suwon Invitational tournament in South Korea.


The four-nation tournament also involves Denmark and Honduras along with the hosts, and holds from 2 June to 6 June.

According to thenff.com, the list is made up of 12 home-based players and eight foreign-based players.

Other players who were included for the invitational tournament are Ubong Ekpai, Stanley Amuzie, Erhun Obanor, Segun Oduduwa, Saviour Godwin and Sincere Seth.

Also, coach Samson Siasia included the duo of Emiloju Julius and Abdulrahman Taiwo who are new in the team.

Addressing the players selected, Siasia urged them to see it as an honour to serve the country.

“That you were selected does not mean that those not selected are not good. We simply want to give everyone enough opportunity to justify why they should be part of the team to the Rio Olympics.”

Meanwhile, the delegation of 20 players and 10 officials will be led by NFF Executive Committee member and Chairman of the NFF Media and Publicity Committee,
Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande.

The delegation is expected to depart Nigeria for South Korea on Monday, 30th May aboard an Ethiopian Airline flight, and arrive in Seoul on Tuesday.

U-23 Eagles 20-Man List For Suwon Tournament:

1. Emmanuel Daniel
2. Yusuf Mohammed
3. Emmanson Daniel
4. Sincere Seth
5. Ndifreke Effiong
6. Segun Oduduwa
7. Stanley Amuzie
8. Julius Emiloju
9. Erhun Obanor
10. Saturday Erimuya
11. Azubuike Okechukwu
12. Usman Mohammed
13. Stanley Dimgba
14. Sodiq Popoola
15. Saviour Godwin
16. Taiwo Awoniyi
17. Ubong Ekpai
18. Abdulrahman Taiwo
19. Nathan Oduwa
20. Tiongoli Tonbara

Copyright © 2022 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.