Aubameyang Is African Player Of The Year; Osimhen, Etebor Also Win

Aubameyang Is African Player Of The Year; Osimhen, Etebor Also Win

By Izuchukwu Okosi:

pix by Ganiyu Yusuf:


Gabonese international and Borrussia Dortmund forward, Pierre-Emerick Aubamayang on Thursday night was crowned the African Player of the Year 2015 at the Glo-CAF Award ceremony held at the International Conference Centre, Abuja.

Manchester City's Yaya Toure who led the Cote d' Ivoire national team to the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations title was the first runner-up of the big award while Ghana and Swansea forward, Andre Ayew, the son of Ghana football legend, Andre Ayew was the third of the nominees.

Zenith Ziva

Toure won the won between 2011 to 2014, the first African star to win the prize in four consecutive times.

The award ceremony began with an introduction of the African music stars to entertain viewers and guests by the comperes of the night; Robert Marawa and Juliet Ibrahim.

The first award of the night handed out was The National Team of the Year (male) award won by the Elephants of Cote d' Ivoire who won the 2015 African Cup of Nations. They beat off competition from the Nigeria U-17 national team, Golden Eaglets, who won the 2015 FIFA U-17 World Cup for a record fifth time, and Ghana.

Cameroon won the prize for the National Team of the Year (women) award at the expense of South Africa and Zimbabwe.

The Fair Play Award went to Alez Casa, the Senegalese Supporters Group.  

The African Club of the Year award was expectedly won by DR Congo's TP Mazembe, Africa's representatives at the 2015 FIFA Club World Cup, courtesy of their CAF Champions League winning feat last year. They had Algeria's USM Alger and South Africa's Orlando Pirates as rivals for the award. 

Warri Wolves midfielder Oghenekaro Etebo scooped the award for the Most Promising Talent of the Year. The U-23 star who was instrumental in the U-23 Eagles triumph at the  CAF U-23 Cup of Nations ahead of team-mate, Azubuike Okechukwu and Mali's Djigui Diarra.

Golden Eaglets striker at the FIFA U-17 World Cup in Chile, Victor Osimhen, who was the top scorer at the championship, won the Youth Player of the Year award. Kelechi Nwakali who captained the team to win the tournament and was awarded the Most  Valueable Player prize as well as Mali's Adama Traoure were the other nominees for the award.

Herve Renard won the Coach of the Year award for leading the Ivorian national team to the 2015 African Cup of Nations, the first by the team since 1992.

The Women's Player of the Year was won by Cameroon's Gaelle Enganamouit who defeated Super Falcons' Ngozi Ebere and another Cameroon international, Gabrielle Onguene to the gong. 

The Referee of the Year award was won by Gambia's Bakary Papa Gassama. The arbitar beat off Alioum of Cameroon and Egypt's Ghead Zaglol Grisha. 

The African Legends Award was given to former Ghana international and one-time FIFA/CAF technical instructor,  Charles Kumi Gyamfi and. Cameroon's Samuel Mbappe Leppe. 

The nominees for the African Player of The Year award for players based in Africa; Baghdad Bounedjah (Algeria and Etoile Sahel), Mbwana Aly Samatta (Tanzania and TP Mazembe) and Robert Kidiaba Muteba (DR Congo and TP Mazembe) were invited to the stage but was Aly Samatta nicked the prize.  Bounedjah was not in attendance though.

The African Dream Team had Nigeria's trio of Azubuike Okechukwu, Kelechi Nwakali and Victor Osimhen as part of the substitutes. The Africa XI had the likes of Yaya Toure, Pierre Emerick Aubamayang, Andre Ayew, Sadio Mane amongst others. 

The Platinum award was given to Nigeria's President Muhammadu Buhari. It was received by a representative on behalf of the country's leader.

All The Awards

 African Player Of The Year, 2015: Pierre-Emerrick Aubameyang (Gabon)

CAF Platinum Award, 2915: Muhammadu Buhari 

Football Leader Of The Year, 2015: Abdoqaini Said Arab (Somalia) 

African Player Of The Year Based In Africa: Mbwana Aly Samatta (Tanzania)

2015 African Legends Award: Charles Kumi Gyami(Ghana) & Samuel Mbappe Leppe (Cameroon)

Referee Of The Year Award: Bakary Papa Gassama (Gambia)

Women's Player Of The Year  2015: Gaelle Enganamouit 

Coach Of The Year, 2015: Harve Renard (Cote d'Ivoire)

Youth Player Of The Year, 2015: Victor Osimhen (Nigeria)

The Most Promising Talent Award, 2015: Etebo Oghenekaro (Nigeria).

Club Of The Year, 2015: TP Mazembe, DR Congo

CAF Fair Play Award, 2015: Allez Casa

Women's National Team Of The Year, 2015: Cameroon 

National Team Of The Year, 2015: Cote d'Ivoire

Africa Finest XI: 

Goalkeeper: Robert Muteba KIDIABA (DR Congo).

Defenders: Serge AURIER (Cote d’Ivoire), Aymen ABDENNOUR (Tunisia), Mohamed MEFTAH (Algeria).

Midfielders: Andre AYEW (Ghana), Yaya TOURE (Cote d’Ivoire), Sadio MANE (Senegal), Yacine BRAHIMI (Algeria).

Forwards: Mbwana Aly SAMATTA (Tanzania), Pierre-Emerrick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon), Baghdad BOUNEDJAH (Algeria).

completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.