CHAMPIONS CHELSEA: 5 Nigerian Stars Who Won League Titles In Europe Before Moses

CHAMPIONS CHELSEA: 5 Nigerian Stars Who Won League Titles In Europe Before Moses

Super Eagles forward Victor Moses has just won his first Premier League title.


A win for Chelsea against West Brom at the Hawthorns on Friday meant Moses become a top flight league winner for the first time in his career.


Zenith Ziva

Completesportsnigeria.com's JAMES AGBEREBI rememembers FIVE other Nigerian stars who have enjoyed league success in Europe…





After departing Lokeren (his first European club), the late Stephen Keshi joined Belgian giants Anderlecht in 1987.


In his final season with Anderlecht, Keshi played a major role as Anderlecht were crowned Belgian champions in the 1990/1991 season.


It turned out to be Keshi's only European league title during his professional career.


Before winning the league title in 1991, Keshi had helped Anderlecht win two Belgian Cups in 1988 and 1989.





FINIDI GEORGE (AJAX: 1994, 1995, 1996)


Finidi George's most memorable time in Europe was when he was at Dutch giants Ajax Amsterdam whom he joined in 1993 from now defunct Sharks of Port Harcourt.


During his time at Ajax, under Louis Van Gaal, Finidi was a league winner in three straight seasons in 1994, 1995 and 1996.


Finidi also helped Ajax win their fourth UEFA Champions League title (1995) Johan Cruyff Shield (1994,1995) UEFA Super Cup (1995) and the Intercontinental Cup (1995).


He left Ajax in 1996 and signed for Spanish LaLiga outfit Real Betis.





NWANKWO KANU (AJAX: 1994, 1995, 1996. ARSENAL: 2002, 2004)


Regarded as one of Nigeria's most decorated footballers, Nwankwo Kanu was a teammate of Finidi when Ajax dominated the Dutch league by winning three consecutive titles in 1994, 1994 and 1996.


Just like Finidi, Kanu was key when Ajax won the 1995 Champions League, UEFA Super Cup and Intercontinental Cup.


Kanu left Ajax for Inter Milan in 1996 but after three forgettable years with the Nerazurri, Kanu joined Arsenal in 1999.


At Arsenal, Kanu won the English Premier League title in 2002 and 2004.


The two-time African Footballer of the Year left Arsenal in 2004 after five seasons and joined West Brom.





 MIKEL OBI (CHELSEA: 2010, 2015)


Mikel Obi's first set of laurels for Chelsea was the FA Cup and League Cup.


Under Jose Mourinho, Mikel won the FA Cup and League Cup in 2007 before winning another FA Cup in 2009 with Guus Hiddink.


But it was in 2010 that Mikel won his first Premier League title while Carlo Ancelotti was in charge.


And in Mourinho's second spell with Chelsea, Mikel won another league title, this time in 2015.


Mikel was also a member of the Chelsea team that won the Champions League in 2012 and the Europa League in 2013.




EFE AMBROSE (CELTIC: 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016)


After spending two seasons with Israeli club Ashdod whom he signed for in 2010, Efe Ambrose joined Celtic and enjoyed a trophy-laden period with the Bhoys.


Ambrose won four consecutive Scottish Premier League titles in 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016.


He added the Scottish Cup and the Scottish League Cup to his league titles.


Ambrose was sent on loan to Championship club Hibernian this season and helped them win the second division title and also gain promotion back to the top flight this season.

completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.