County Championship Set For Restructuring

County Championship Set For Restructuring

Gamezop Banner On Complete Sports 468x60

It has been confirmed that Division One of the County Championship will feature 10 teams from the 2020 season. The current structure, which sees eight teams compete in Division One, has been in place since 2017, but it will now be overhauled with one team being relegated from top flight next season, while three will be promoted from the second tier.

The ECB have also confirmed that the One-Day Cup will run alongside the new competition known as ‘The Hundred’, which will launch in July 2020, while the T20 Blast will retain its current format.

The men’s domestic playing programme group (MDDP) met four times before agreeing to the new proposals and Leicestershire chief executive Wasim Khan, who chairs the MDDP, believes the new structure can only benefit domestic cricket in England.

“We are very pleased that there was unanimous support for a structure that will hopefully improve our domestic game and in turn the England teams,” Khan said.

ECB chief operating officer Gordon Hollins confirmed they will now move ahead with the restructuring, which he hopes will also benefit the England team on the international stage.

“After receiving unanimous agreement we will move forward with plans that will help ensure that our domestic game remains as vibrant as possible while producing players to help our England teams remain successful,” Hollins said.

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.