FAIRYTALE: 5 Leicester-Like Shock League Titles In Europe

FAIRYTALE: 5 Leicester-Like Shock League Titles In Europe

After narrowly escaping relegation last season, Leicester City did the unthinkable by lifting the 2015-2016 English Premier League title.

Never was it imagined that a side mostly made up of rejects, unknowns and journeymen  would become the champions of one of Europe's top leagues.

Completesportsnigeria.com's JAMES AGBEREBI lists FIVE other teams that achieved similar fairytale feat as Claudio Ranieri's Foxes…

MONTPELLIER (Ligue 1 2011-2012)

Founded in 1974, Montpellier shocked the football world by lifting their first and only Ligue 1 title in the 2011-2012 season.

Despite competing with heavyweights like Paris Saint-Germain, Lyon, Marseille and thendefending champions Lille, Montpellier defird the odds by emerging champions for the very first time in their history.

Prior to the epoch-making feat, Montpellier were relegated to Ligue 3 in 2001, where they spent three seasons before getting promoted to Ligue 2 in 2005.

They eventually gained promotion to Ligue 1 in 2008 and surprised not a few by finishing fifth and qualifying for the Europa League in their first season back in the top flight.

Hot on their heels were PSG in 2011/2012 before they eventually edged it on the final day of the season, beating already relegated Auxerre 2-1, thanks to a brace from John Utaka.

They finished the season on 82 points, three ahead of super-rich runners-up PSG, while current Arsenal forward, Olivier Giroud, was the league's highest goalscorer with 21 goals.

WOLFSBURG (Bundesliga 2008-2009)

Much to the surprise of all, Wolfsburg were crowned champions of the 2008-2009 Bundesliga campaign, their first-ever league title since their formation in 1945.

It was expected that Bayern Munich as usual would emerge champions but Wolfsburg were having none of that, as they finished top with 69 points, while Bayern had 67 points.

After going neck-and-neck with Bayern in the title race, Wolfsburg defeated Werder Bremen 5-1 on the final day of the season to finally pick up the giant shield.

And at the forefront of Wolfsburg's march to the title were Edin Dzeko and Grafite, who scored 54 goals between them.

Grafite finished as the 2008-2009 Bundesliga leading goalscorer after finding the back of the net 28 times.

BLACKBURN ROVERS (Premier League 1994-1995)

Prior to winning the 1994-1995 English Premier League (their third), the last time Blackburn were crowned champions was in 1914.

After spending 26 years outside the English top flight, Rovers got promoted to the Premier League in 1992. They finished fourth in the 1992-1993 season and second in the 1993-1994 season behind Manchester United.

Managed by Kenny Dalglish, and with players like Alan Shearer, Tim Sherwood and Chris Sutton, Blackburn made their third season back in the EPL a memorable one by winning the title.

For most part of the season, Blackburn enjoyed a wide gap in terms of points between themselves and the other teams. While Newcastle, Nottingham Forest and Liverpool briefly topped the league in the first three months of the season.

The title was decided on a dramatic final day, as despite Blackburn losing 2-1 to Liverpool, Manchester United could only draw 1-1 against West Ham, losing out by just one point, 89 to 88.

And to cap a remarkable season, Alan Shearer finished as highest goalscorer with 34 goals.

NAPOLI (Serie A 1986-1987)

Napoli's only claim to success as a football club was in the Coppa Italia and the Super Coppa Italia.

The first time Napoli came close to winning the Serie A title was in 1968 but they finished second behind AC Milan.

But all that was to change following the arrival of Diego Maradona in 1984 as they won the Serie A title in the 1986-1987 season for the first time, becoming the first Southern Italian side to achieve the feat.

Despite competing with a star-studded AC Milan side, Juventus and Inter Milan, a Maradona-inspired Napoli side remained unfazed as the chase for the title gathered momentum.

And at the end,  Napoli finished the season on 42 points while Juventus had 39 points.

They also went on to win the Coppa Italia, to make it a double-winning season.

And in the 1989-1990 season, Napoli picked up their second Serie A title.

HELLAS VERONA (Serie A 1984-1985)

Unlike Napoli that had Maradona, the Hellas Verona team for the 1984-1985 Serie A season were never reckoned with as a team that would go the distance let alone win the title.

But they not only went the full distance, but also lifted the Serie A for the first time.

In the 1982-1983 season, Hellas had served a notice of what to come when they finished fourth in the final standings (their highest ever finish at the time).

Memorable wins against Juventus (2-0), Udinese (5-3) and Roma (1-0) ended any speculation that the team was losing energy midway into the season.

Hellas Verona finally won the title after a 1-1 away draw against Atalanta with a game in hand.

They finished on 43 points ahead of second place Torino who had 39 points while Inter Milan were third.