HomeNews Update

Garba Names 30-Man Squad For Germany Camp

Garba Names 30-Man Squad For Germany Camp

Flying Eagles head coach, Manu Garba, has listed a total of 30 players for the training in Germany to step up preparations ahead of the upcoming FIFA under-20 World Cup in New Zealand.

25 players left the shores of Nigeria yesterday, while the five foreign-bases players in the team are expected to join them in Germany.

The players were selected from the initial list of 35 players submitted by the coaching crew as part of Nigeria preliminary list for the World youth championship and after spending time in training five players were dropped from the team.

UBA Super Savers

In defence Roland Silas of Airforce FC and Adebayo Ademilua of Nath boys were dropped while the duo of Saddam Billy Auta of Wikki Tourist and Okechukwu Gabriel of Water FC were the attackers not listed for the Germany trip.

However the biggest omission is in Midfield where Obinna Nwobodo tipped to be a star at the World Youth Championship after impressing at the Africa Youth Championship was dropped after he failed to shake off a niggling injury picked up after the AYC triumph.

A final list of 21 players is expected to be submitted to FIFA on the 15th of May.
30-Man squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Adamu Abubakar (Flash FC); Dele Alampasu (Football College Academy); Joshua Enaholo (MFM FC); Olorunleke Ojo (Giwa FC)

Defenders: Saheed Abdul-Ganiyu (Ace Academy); Monsuru Bashiru (MFM FC); Zaharaddeen Bello (Dabo Babes Academy); Musa Muhammed (FC Heart Academy); Abdullahi Mustapha (Spotlight FC); Onyinye Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Samuel Okon (Greater TomorrowAcademy); Prince Omego (Apapa Golden Stars)

Midfielders: Abdullahi Alfa (Football College Academy); Bernard Bulbwa (Shuttle Sports Academy); Akinjide Idowu (Nigeria Young Academy); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Water FC); Wasiu Jimoh (Kwara Academy); Ifeanyi Mathew (El-Kanemi Warriors); Chidiebere Nwakali (Manchester City, England); Kingsley Sokari (Enyimba FC); Musa Yahaya (Tottenham Hotspur, England)

Forwards: Alhassan Abdullahi (FC Heart Academy); Taiwo Awoniyi (Imperial Academy); Chidera Ezeh (FC Porto, Portugal); Saviour Godwin (FC Sports); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Success Isaac (Granada FC, Spain); Christian Pyagbara (Dolphins FC); Usman Sale (Wikki Tourists); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium)

Copyright © 2023 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.