HomeHeadlinesTop Stories

Glo/CAF Awards: Nollywood Star Edochie Crowns Toure, Challenges Nigerian Stars‎

Glo/CAF Awards: Nollywood Star Edochie Crowns Toure, Challenges Nigerian Stars‎

By Izuchukwu Okosi‎:

Current Africa Footballer of the Year and four-time winner of the prize, Yaya Toure will be the winner once again of the 2015 Glo CAF Awards, Nollywood star Yul Edochie has wished and predicted, Completesportsnigeria.com.com reports.

Toure, along with the duo of Gabon's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Ghana's Andre Ayew, are the nominees for the award which holds tonight at the International Conference Centre, Abuja.


Edochie who himself has won a couple of movie awards spoke to Completesportsnigeria.com on Thursday on his thoughts on the Oscars of African football, but he rues the fact that no Nigerian player is in the running for the award.

"Yaya Toure is the clear favourite to win this award again, for sure. Aubameyang did so well in 2015. Hmmm, Andre Ayew, yes he tried, but the other two guys fared relatively better," Yul tells Completesportsnigeria.com.

Zenith Ziva

"I would have wished our brother, John Mikel Obi or any other Super Eagles player was nominated but this is a challenge to our players. This award is held in our country, but we don't have any player among the nominees.

"Hopefully, hopefully, we will have one of our own rise to the challenge in 2016 and win by this time next year. Unfortunately, Mikel didn't play many games last year for Chelsea though he has started doing so once again," the legendary Pete Edochie's son stresses.

Emmanuel Amuneke is in the running for the Coach of the Year award for winning the FIFA U-17 World Cup with the Golden Eaglets for a record fifth time, while PSG's Ngozi Ebere is nominated for the African Women's Player of the Year award.

The duo of Kelechi Nwakali and Victor Osimhen are nominated for the Youth Player of the Year prize while Oghenekaro Etebo and Azubuike Okechukwu are nominated for the Most Promising Talent category.

The Nigerian U-17 and U-23 national teams are nominated for the National Team of The Year category.

completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.