Iheanacho Tops Flying Eagles World Cup List

Iheanacho Tops Flying Eagles World Cup List

Manchester City of England younster, Kelechi Iheanacho has been revealed as topping the list of a provisional 35-man list submitted to FIFA by the Nigeria Football Federation, NFF on April 1 ahead of the 2015 U-20 World Cup finals slated for New Zealand May 30-20 June, 2015.

Iheanacho, winner of the 2013 U-17 World Cup in Dubai with the Golden Eaglets, has not been involved in coach Manu Garba’s Flying Eagles since after the Dubai feat with the Eaglets partly because of commitment at the English Premier League title holders.

Sl10.ng, an online publication reports that the 35-man list was drawn in Senegal, immediately after Flying Eagles triumph in the African Youth Championship, AYC.

The idea, the website reports, was to ensure the deadline by FIFA for the submission of participating countries provisional squad list was met.

The list is expected to be officially made public by NFF on Wednesday, April 8 (tomorrow).
According to the website’s findings, the list comprises of four goalkeepers, Dele Alampasu,
Joshua Enaholo, Olorunleke Ojo and Adamu Abubakar.

Seven midfielders, including Wilfred Ndidi, Zahradeen Bello, Abdulganiyu Saheed, Izu Omego, Mustapha Abullahi, Samuel Okon and Mustapha Mohammed.

Obinna Nwobodo, Ifeanyi Matthew, Akinjide Idowu, Abdullahi Alfa, Bernard Bulbwa, Kelechi Nwakali, Kingsley Sokari, Bashir Monsur and Adebayo Ademiloye are the midfielder in the provisional list.

The strikers listed are Isacc Success, Moses Simon, Chidera Ezeh, Ikechukwu Gabriel, Saviour Godwin, Wasiu Jimoh, Musa Yahaya, Kelechi Iheanacho, Christian Pyagbara, Taiwo Awoniyi, Ibrahim Alhassan, Usman Sale and Saddam Billy Auta.

The final 21-man team that will represent Nigeria at the FIFA U-20 World Cup will be named from the 35 players after their final training leading to the championship.