Iwobi, Iheanacho Named As Subs In African Team Of 2016

Iwobi, Iheanacho Named As Subs In African Team Of 2016


The three nominees for the Glo-CAF African Footballer of the Year Gabon's Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Algeria's Riyad Mahrez and Senegal's Sadio Mane have been included in the African Team of the Year for 2016, Completesportsnigeria.com reports. 



The Confederation of African Football announced the African XI on their website on Wednesday ahead of Thursday night's Glo-CAF Awards in Abuja.

Zenith Ziva


All three stars are named as the forwards of Africa's Finest XI, while Uganda and Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Denis Oyango is the goalkeeper. 

In defence are Ivory Coast and Manchester United centre-back Eric Bailly; Aymen Abdenour of Tunisia and Valencia; Joyce Lomalisa of DR Congo and AS Vita; and Serge Aurier of Ivory Coast and Paris Saint Germain.

Khama Billiat of Zimbabwe and Mamelodi Sundowns, Rainford Kalaba of Zambia and TP Mazembe and Keegan Dolly of South Africa and Mamelodi Sundowns make up the midfield.


While there are no Nigerians in the African XI, Kelechi Iheanacho of Manchester City and Alex Iwobi of Arsenal were considered good enough as substitutes alongside the likes of Algeria and Leicester City's Islam Slimani, Egypt and AS Roma's Mohamed Salah and Kalidou Coulibaly of Senegal and Napoli.


All the nominees:


African Player of the Year

Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)

Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City)

Sadio MANE (Senegal & Liverpool)


African Player of the Year – Based in Africa

Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Khama BILLIAT (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Rainford KALABA (Zambia & TP Mazembe)


Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)

Elizabeth ADDO (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik)

Gabrielle ABOUDI ONGUENE (Cameroon & Rossyanka)


Most Promising Talent

Elia MESCHAK (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)   

Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City)

Naby KEITA (Guinea & RB Leipzig)


Youth Player of the Year

Alex IWOBI (Nigeria and Arsenal)

Eric AYIAH (Ghana and Charity FC)        

Sandra OWUSU-ANSAH (Ghana and Supreme Ladies)


Coach of the Year

Florent IBENGE (DR Congo national team)

Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns) 

Florence OMAGBEMI (Nigeria women’s national team)


Club of the Year

Mamelodi Sundowns 

TP Mazembe     

Zesco United


National Team of the Year                                                     

DR Congo




Women’s National Team of the Year



South Africa


Referee of the Year

Bakary Papa GASSAMA      

Ghead Zaglol GRISHA     

Malang DIEDHIOU            


Football Leader of the Year

Manuel LOPES NASCIMENTO, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation 


Legend Award

Laurent POKOU, Former player of Cote d’Ivoire

Emilienne MBANGO, Former player of Cameroon


Africa Finest XI

Goalkeeper: Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns) 

Defenders: Serge AURIER (Cote d’Ivoire & Paris Saint-Germain), Aymen ABDENNOUR (Tunisia & Valencia), Eric BAILLY (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United), Joyce LOMALISA (DR Congo & AS Vita)

Midfielders: Khama BILLIAT (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns), Rainford KALABA (Zambia & TP Mazembe), Keegan DOLLY (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns),

Forwards: Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund), Sadio MANE (Senegal & Liverpool), Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City) 



Aymen MATHLOUTHI (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel), Kalidou KOULIBALY (Senegal & Napoli), Salif COULIBALY (Mali & TP Mazembe), Islam SLIMANI (Algeria & Leicester City), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma), Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City), Alex IWOBI (Nigeria and Arsenal)


completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.