Iwobi Listed Among Arsenal’s Top Eight Emirates Cup Talents ‎

Iwobi Listed Among Arsenal’s Top Eight Emirates Cup Talents  ‎

Super Eagles forward, Alex Iwobi has been listed as one of Arsenal's eight best outstanding talents in the history of the Emirates Cup.

Arsenal disclosed this on their official website ahead of the 2017 edition.


Aside from Iwobi, the other seven talented players selected are Aaron Ramsey, Jack Wilshere, Serge Gnabry, Hector Bellerin, Emmanuel Frimpong,  Wojciech Szczesny and Kieran Gibbs.

Commenting on Iwobi's outstanding performance at the 2015 edition, a statement on Arsenal's website reads: "Another youngster to have impressed on our pre-season tour, Alex headed into the 2015 Emirates Cup in good form. Although not many fans had heard of him before our tournament opener, the tricky forward made sure his name was on everyone's lips when he smashed Aaron Ramsey's pass into the top corner on our way to a 6-0 win over Lyon (Jeff Reine-Adelaide would also later the show against Wolfsburg).

Zenith Ziva

"A stellar breakthrough season saw Alex make his senior, Premier League and Champions League debuts within a week and ended with a first cap for Nigeria, following in the footsteps of his legendary uncle, Jay-Jay Okocha. Now with more than 50 first-team appearances to his name, the 21-year-old will be desperate to leave a similar mark on the competition where it all started for him."

This year's edition of the Emirates Cup which runs from Saturday, July 29 to 30, will see Bundesliga club RB Leipzig, Benfica of Portugal and Spanish LaLiga outfit Sevilla, slug it out with hosts Arsenal.

The Emirates Cup (named after Arsenal's main sponsor Emirates Airline and inaugurated in 2007) is a pre-season invitational competition hosted by Arsenal at their home ground,‎
Emirates Stadium.

The two-day competition has been held every summer except 2012 due to the London Olympics , and 2016 because of pitch renovation work.

Arsenal's Eight best outstanding talents of the Emirates Cup:

Kieran Gibbs (2007)
Aaron Ramsey (2008)
Jack Wilshire (2009)
Emmanuel Frimpong (2010)
Wojciech Szczesny (2011)
Serge Gnabry (2013)
Hector Bellerin (2014)
Alex Iwobi (2015)

completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.