Journalists Honour Outgoing IAAF President Diack

Journalists Honour Outgoing IAAF President Diack

The Sports Pearl Media awards was presented at the traditional AIPS reception at the world athletics championships to a packed crowd of sporting dignitaries led by IAAF president Lamine Diack and his successor Lord Sebastian Coe on Friday in Beijing.

Over 150 journalists attended the ‘pasta party’  held at the Intercontinental Hotel, that also honoured Diack after 16 years of steering the IAAF and serving in various roles continentally and nationally, with a Power of Sport Award trophy presented by Honav.

The chairman of the AIPS Athletics Commission Marc Ventouillac and J. Chen of Honav presented Diack, a former high jumper and footballer who has also served sports in Africa and his native Senegal in various capacities with the trophy.

The 82-year old, a former Africa Athletics President, is a retired IOC member and served in the National Olympic Committees and Athletics Federation. He was a football technical director, a sports Minister amongst many other roles.

Lord Coe one of the greatest middle distance runners who won the 1500m twice at the Olympics, also received a Power of Sport trophy. Lord Coe was the Chairman of the London bid for the 2012 Olympics and thereafter led the successful Games organising committee.

Lord Coe who assumes leadership of the IAAF from next Tuesday is the IAAF vice-president and also chairman of the British Olympic Association, was presented with his award by AIPS President Gianni Merlo.