Kano Pillars Are Gold Cup Champions

Kano Pillars Are Gold Cup Champions

By Sab Osuji:

Kano Pillars Football Club on Friday emerged winners of this year’s edition of the annual Gold Cup Pre-Season Tournament after a hard fought 2-1 victory over Supreme Court Fc of Abuja,Completesportsnigeria.com reports.

The tournament which took place in Ijebu Ode was hailed by many as one of the best so far. A lot of emphasis were on the quality of football played by the teams and the level of competitiveness that came along with it.

The Sai Masu Gida outfit silenced the Apex Boys in a pulsating final at the Otunba Dipo Dina International Stadium, Ijebu Ode to lift the glittering trophy.

Former Dolphins midfielder, Omo Johnson put Pillars in front in the 23rd minute with a sublime half volley.

Nigeria international, Rabiu Ali doubled Pillars advantage in the 39th from the spot after sending Supreme Court keeper, Ohiari Matthew, the wrong way.

Dazzling Mubarak Saidu reduced the tally for the Apex Court boys from the penalty spot before the break.

Supreme Court enjoyed possession in the second period but Pillars held out stoutly to preserve their lead till the final whistle. 

Omo Johnson claimed the Golden Boot with three goals, while Mubarak Saidu, was voted the Most Valuable Player. 

A total of nine clubs participated in this year's edition of the Gold Cup Pre Season tournament. They include Lobi Stars, Giwa FC, Kano Pillars, Remo Stars, COD United, FC Ebedei, Crown FC and Imperial FC.

"The annual football championship is organised to help Nigerian league clubs to fine tune their preparations ahead of the new season," Tune Shamsudeen, head of the organising committee said.