HomeNigeria League

LMC Suspends Nine Stadiums

LMC Suspends Nine Stadiums

The League Management Company has suspended the home grounds of nine Glo Premier League clubs, the league body announced in a release on Monday..

The clubs have thus been directed to choose alternative home grounds from Match Day 12 while they fix the problems recorded against their playing turf.

 The LMC Chief Operating Officer, Salihu Abubakar, said the decisions were reached at the recent LMC Board meeting in Abuja which amongst other deliberations assessed the reports as it concerned the state of the playing pitches.

The LMC board also gave the clubs a deadline of 45 days to work on other aspects of the facilities that were found to be below requirement.

Abubakar said the reports were classified in three parts: grounds that had approval, grounds with minor problems for which the club has been given one week to fix and the third are grounds with extensive problems for which the clubs have been asked to fix within two weeks.

Those granted full approval to host matches include Enyimba International Stadium, Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, Liberation Stadium, Oghara Township Stadium and Warri Township Stadium.

Others are Sani Abacha Stadium, Akure Township Stadium, Aper Aku Stadium, Lekan Salami Stadium and Ilorin Township Stadium.

Four clubs were directed to effect minor repairs on their pitches for which another round of inspection would be carried out on the club’s invitation after Match Day 12. The clubs are Heartland, FC IfeanyiUbah, Wikki Tourists and Abia Warriors.

Five other clubs whose grounds were adjudged to be in great disrepair have had their ground suspended to host games in the next two weeks starting following which progress of the repairs would be reviewd at the invitation of the clubs.

The clubs are Giwa FC, FC Taraba, El-Kanemi Warriors, Akwa United and Nasarawa United.

He added that alternative stadiums including those not hosting league games currently were inspected and recommended for the clubs to host their games.

The alternative venues include the Abuja National Stadium, UJ Esuene Stadium in Calabar, Uyo International Stadium and Karkanda Stadium in Katsina.

Others are Otunba Dipo Dina Stadium in Ijebu Ode, Pantami Stadium in Gombe, Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos and Ahmadu Bello Stadium in Kaduna.

“The clubs are free to choose any of these recommended venues for their home games until their grounds are re-certified,” Abubakar said.


Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2020 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.