HomeHeadlinesWorld Football

Messi, Ronaldo, Buffon Nominated For UEFA Best Player Award

Messi, Ronaldo, Buffon Nominated For UEFA Best Player Award

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Gianluigi Buffon have been announced as the three final shortlists for the 2016/2017 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year Award.

This was announced on UEFA’s website on Tuesday.


A statement on the UEFA website reads: “The shortlist of three players was selected by a jury comprising the 80 coaches of the clubs which participated in the group stage of the 2016/17 UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League, along with 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group, representing each of UEFA’s member associations.

“UEFA’s Men’s Player of the Year Award recognises the best players, irrespective of nationality, playing for a club within the territory of a UEFA member association during the past season. Players are judged on their performances in all competitions – domestic, continental and international.

AFCON 2022 Zabira

“The final result was based on the total number of votes cast by the coaches and the journalists. The coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own team.”

Messi and Ronaldo have both won the award twice previously – Messi in 2010/11 and 2014/15, and Ronaldo in 2013/14 and 2015/2016.


Other players who have won the award  are Andrés Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona) in 2011/12 and Franck Ribéry (France, Bayern München) in 2012/13.

The seven other players who make up the rest of the top ten are

4:Luka Modrić (Croatia, Real Madrid)
5: Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid)
6: Paulo Dybala (Argentina, Juventus)
7: Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)
8: Kylian Mbappé (France, Monaco)
9: Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern München)
10: Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden, Manchester United)

Ronaldo who is favourite to retain the award, was instrumental in Madrid winning the Spanish LaLiga and defending the Champions League.

Messi could only lay his hands on the Spanish Copa Del Rey, while Buffon won the Serie A and Coppa Italia but lost in the final of the Champions League.

The winner will be announced on Thursday, 24 August at the 2017/2018 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Nyon, Switzerland.

completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.