HomeNews Update

NFF Apologizes To Nigerians For Eagles AFCON Failure

NFF Apologizes To Nigerians For Eagles AFCON Failure

–Plan big for Nigerian Football

Following the failure of the Super Eagles to qualify for the 2015 African Cup of Nations, the Executive Committee of the Nigeria Football Federation held a meeting on Wednesday night and reached far-reaching measures to improve football in the country.


The meeting at the Venus Hotel & Suites, Uyo was the third by the recently inaugurated NFF board.

The Executive Commitee apologised to the Federal Government and Nigerian football fans at home and abroad for the failure of the Eagles to qualify for the 30th Africa Cup of Nations finals in Equatorial Guinea where Stephen Keshi’s team would have defended the title they won in 2013.


The Board resolved collectively to accept full responsibility for the mishap and called for patience and understanding of Nigerians while it pursued the cause of building a sustainable football culture for the country, and also work hard at engineering a resurgence of the national teams through well–thought programmes and processes.

The Committee also agreed to review the contract of Management Staff by the end of the first quarter of Year 2015 and adopted the reports of all standing committees and judicial bodies of NFF since inauguration of the present Board.

In view of the imminence of the resumption of Shaibu Amodu as Technical Director of Nigeria Football Federation, the Executive Committee endorsed a proposal that the current Director of Technical, Dr. Emmanuel Ikpeme become known and addressed as Deputy General Secretary with immediate effect.

The Executive Committee on Wednesday night set up an eight –man panel to look into proposals for amendment of the NFF Statutes.

One of the proposals reached at the meeting is to allow the South –East zone to produce one more regular member for the present NFF Executive Committee, as it is presently being represented by only one regular Member (Felix Anyansi-Agwu) as against two each for the other five zones. Chairman of the panel is Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi, and members are Ibrahim Musa Gusau, Oswald Atuake, Olaleye Adepoju, Mohammed Nasir Saidu, Ephraim Chukwuemeka, Yusuf Ahmed Fresh and Chidi Ofo Okenwa. Secretary is Joshua Onoja.

The Committee, Completesportsnigeria.com can report, established up a three –man panel to look into the case of the Boards of the Nigeria National League, Nigeria Women League and Nigeria Nationwide League, with a view to determining when elections into these Boards should actually take place. Chairman of the panel is Barr. Chris Green while members are Otunba Sunday Dele Ajayi and Alhaji. Babagana Kalli.

Ahead of the 11th African U-17 Championship taking place in Niger Republic, 15th February – 1st March, 2015, for which they have qualified, the Golden Eaglets will resume camping in Abuja on 14th December, 2014.

Similarly, the U-20 national team, Flying Eagles, will on 24th November resume camping for a screening exercise, ahead of the 19th African Youth Championship taking place in Senegal, 8th – 22nd March, 2015.

In a bold move to improve the quality of coaching, match –reading and backroom analysis in the country, and ultimately to improve the fortunes of the various national teams, the Executive Committee adopted a proposal by its President, Amaju Pinnick, to sponsor 17 persons on a two –week as reported by Completesportsnigeria.comlast week, for an intensive training programme in England.

The beneficiaries which include former internationals, coaches and referees include: Sam John Obuh, Isa Ladan Bosso, Shaibu Amodu, Salisu Yusuf, Paul Aigbogun, Kelechi Emeteole, David Ngodigha, Edema Fuludu, Yisa Sofoluwe, Nwankwo Kanu, Augustine ‘Jay –Jay’ Okocha, Garba Lawal, Dahiru Sadi, Siji Lagunju, Ann Chiejine, Florence Omagbemi and Garba Musa.

Executive Committee further ratified the results of the recent promotion examination conducted for members of NFF Staff.

The recently –constituted standing committees were updated, with each committee now to have five (5) members, and the other members to have co-opted status. Also, a Facilities Committee will be added while the Internal Audit Committee will be presented to the Congress for approval.

A Technical Study Group, which will be focused on getting talented Nigerian players into the developmental Leagues in Europe for the purpose of creating a pool of future Super Eagles’ players, and work hard at getting more Nigeria –born footballers in Europe to commit to representing fatherland, was constituted.

Chairman of the Group is Augustine ‘Jay –Jay’ Okocha, while members are Nwankwo Kanu, Benedict Akwuegbu, Celestine Babayaro, Michael Obiku, Darlington Omodiagbe, Finidi George, Taribo West, Tijani Babangida, Alloy Agu, Benedict Iroha, Kashimawo Laloko, Henry Nwosu, Peter Rufai, Dominic Iorfa, Dahiru Sadi, Gbenga Ogunbote, Mutiu Adepoju, Florence Omagbemi, Mercy Akide-Udoh, Ann Chiejine, Eucharia Uche and Salisu Yusuf,

<script async src=”//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js”></script> <!– 300×250, created 11/8/11 –> <ins class=”adsbygoogle” style=”display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px” data-ad-client=”ca-pub-9452882342138416″ data-ad-slot=”0923930052″></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>

completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.