NFF Confirm Martins’ Eagles Recall; Iheanacho, Moses Left Out

NFF Confirm Martins’ Eagles Recall; Iheanacho, Moses Left Out

The Nigeria Football Federation have confirmed Completesportsnigeria.com’s scoop that Seattle Sounders striker Obafemi Martins has been recalled to the Super Eagles, by officially listing him in the squad for the World Cup qualifying tie against Swaziland.

There are however no places for the in-form England-based pair, Manchester City’s Kelechi Iheanacho and West Ham’s Victor Moses, in the 23-man squad announced on Thursday.


The two-legged fixture will take place over four days next month, with the first leg in Lobamba on Friday, November 13 and the return at the Adokiye Amiesiamaka Stadium in Port Harcourt on Tuesday, November 17.

Martins, who has not featured for the Super Eagles in two years, has been in great form in the American Major League Soccer, where his Seattle Sounders defeated LA Galaxy in an MLS Cup play-off clash on Thursday morning.

Zenith Ziva

The invitation is also a sweet birthday present to Martins, who celebrated his big day on Wednesday. He scored for Nigeria on his debut in a friendly match against Republic of Ireland in London in May 2005.

Six home-based players, who all played notable roles in Nigeria’s qualification for the 4th African Nations Championship at the expense of Burkina Faso, are in the squad.

Chelsea midfielder Mikel Obi, Portugal-based former junior internationals Dele Alampasu and Abdullahi Shehu and Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi are also invited, as well as former junior international defender Wilfred Ndidi.

Oliseh has directed all the players to arrive at the Bolton White Apartments, Abuja on Sunday, November 8 as training commences same day by 7pm.



Carl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England)

Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars)

Dele Alampasu (Club de Sportivo Feirense, Portugal)


Abdullahi Shehu (Uniao da Madeira, Portugal)

Kalu Orji (Enyimba FC)

Elderson Echiejile (AS Monaco, France)

Chima Akas (Sharks FC)

Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz, Germany)

Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey)

Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland)

Austin Oboroakpo (Abia Warriors)


Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy)

Paul Onobi (Sunshine Stars)

John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England)

Rabiu Ibrahim (AS Trencin, Slovakia)

Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium)

Sylvester Igbonu (FC UFA, Russia)


Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia)

Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium)

Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England)

Ezekiel Bassey (Enyimba FC)

Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England)

Obafemi Martins (Seattle Sounders, USA)

completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.