MASSACRE: How Nigeria Destroyed Benin Republic 10-1 In 1959!

MASSACRE: How Nigeria Destroyed Benin Republic 10-1 In 1959!

Completesportsnigeria.com recalls one of Nigeria's biggest ever scorelines in a football match as Sunday's 2018 CHAN qualifier between the home-based Super Eagles and their Beninois counterparts beckons.

It was a  10-1 destruction  of Benin Republic (known then as Dahomey) in the Kwame Nkrumah Cup in 1959 in Lagos.


Nigeria, Benin Republic, Togo, Cameroon and Fernando Po were drawn in zone A in the preliminary rounds of the Kwame Nkrumah Cup.

Other countries in the competition included Ghana, Cote d'Ivoire, Niger Republic and Upper Volta (now Burkina Faso) in Zone B. Sierra Leone, Liberia, Guinea and Mali were  Zone C, while  Zone D comprised  Senegal, Portuguese Guinea (now Guinea-Bissau), Gambia and Cape Verde.

AFCON 2022 Zabira

Nigeria and Benin Republic met in the final of Zone A with a ticket to the main finals in Ghana at stake.

After both legs were decided, Nigeria won both home and away, triumphing 11-1 on aggregate.


In the first leg played on November 8 1959, in Cotonou, Albert Onyeanwuna's lone strike gave Nigeria a 1-0 win.

And in the second leg played on November 28 1959, in Lagos, Nigeria thrashed Benin Republic 10-1.

Elkanah Onyeali scored four goals, Abudu Buraimoh and Onyeanwuna both scored two goals, while Daniel Okwudili, Dejo Fayemi both scored a goal apiece.

At the tournament proper, Nigeria did not show up for their game against Ghana which meant Ghana earned a walkover and qualified for the final.

The other semi-final was between Sierra Leone and Portuguese Guinea which the former won 4-3.

And in the final played in Accra in 1960, Ghana defeated Sierra Leone 6-2 to emerge champions. 

completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.