Nigerian Sports Award 2014: Okagbare, Enyeama Top List

Nigerian Sports Award 2014: Okagbare, Enyeama Top List

–Award enters voting phase

The 2014 edition of the Nigerian Sports Award has entered the voting phase as the top three nominees for each of the different categories of the award have emerged. The list of the top three nominees for all the categories of the award was unveiled on Thursday by the organisers of the Award.


Addressing the media, the General Manager, Unmissable Incentives Limited, Mr. Kayode Idowu noted that the panel received overwhelming nominations for the 2014 editions of the award from members of the public adding that it was a tough job for the collating to select the top 3 nominees for each category.

According to Idowu, Nigeria’s golden girl, Blessing Okagbare and Super Eagles Goalkeeper, Vincent Enyeama top the nomination chat as both of them were nominated in two categories.


Blessing Okagbare who won double Gold medals at the 2014 Commonwealth Games in Scotland was nominated for the Track & Field Star of the Year and Sports Woman of the Year Awards while Vincent Enyeama was nominated for the Sportsman of the Year and Footballer of the Year Awards.

Asisat Oshoala, who won the Golden Boot and Ball at the just concluded Women U-20 world Cup, is nominated alongside Desire Oparanozie and Dike Courtney for the Footballer of the Year (Women) category. Vincent Enyeama, Emmanuel Eminike, Ogenyi Onazi are nominated for the Footballer of the Year (Male).

In the Ball Sports category, high flying Table Tennis player Aruna Quadri, who won the award last year, is nominated alongside another sensational table tennis player: Segun Totiola and Onaolapo Ojo while Blessing Okagbare and Ese Brume are the only two nominated for the track and field award.

Coach of the Falconets, Peter Dedevoh, Manu Garba and Stephen Keshi are the three nominees for the Coach of the Year Award. For the Team of the Year Award Falconet, Super Eagles and Golden Eaglets are the nominees. Vincent Enyeama, Ogenyi Onazi and Osaze Odewinge are the three nominees for the Sportman of the Year while Blessing Okagbare, Asisat Osoala and Courtney Dike are to slug it out for the Sportwoman of the Year Award.

<script async src=”//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js”></script> <!– 300×250, created 11/8/11 –> <ins class=”adsbygoogle” style=”display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px” data-ad-client=”ca-pub-9452882342138416″ data-ad-slot=”0923930052″></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>

completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.



  • SoccerInNigeria 7 years ago

    Blessing Okagbare should win these Awards. She is simply the best Female 100 meter and 200 meter athelete ever to emerge from Africa.

  • Johnny Pan 7 years ago

    What of the Golden Eaglets and Kelechi Iheanacho who also won MVP at d last under 17 World Cup in Quatar