HomeNews Update

Okagbare Confirmed For Laussane Diamond League

Okagbare Confirmed For Laussane Diamond League

By Dare Esan:

Nigeria’s reigning queen of the track,Blessing Okagbare has been confirmed for the 100m event at the seventh meeting of the 2014 season of the IAAF Diamond League on 3 July in Lausanne.

Okagbare who ran a new personal season’s best of 11.06 seconds to win her sixth consecutive 100m title at the Nigeria Commonwealth Games trials last month in Calabar will be up against a loaded field of in-form sprinters.

UBA Super Savers

Top on the list of these sprinters is Trinidad and Tobago’s Ahye Michelle-Lee who penultimate weekend ran a new 10.85 seconds world lead to win the Trinidad and Tobago championships in Port of Spain.

Also confirmed is Jamaica’s former World and Olympic champion,Jamaica’s Veronica Campbell-Brown whose 10.86 seconds run on June 7,2014 in Clemont,Florida is second on the world list.

USA duo of Bowie Tori who ran a 22.18 seconds 200m world lead on May 31,2014 in Eugene,Oregon to win at the Prefontaine IAAF Diamond League ahead of Okagbare (22.23) and English Gardener who ran 11.01 new personal season’s best last weekend in Sacramento,California are also confirmed for the Lausanne event.

Completing the star-studded list is Cote D’Ivoire’s double silver medallist at the 2013 Moscow IAAF World Championships,Ahoure Murielle who holds an 11.06 personal season’s best.

Bowie leads the Diamond Race standings with eight points,six more than Okagbare while absent reigning world 100m queen,Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce is second with four points.

Okagbare however leads the 200m standings with six points followed by USA duo of Allyson Felix (5 points) and Bowie (four points).

<script async src=”//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js”></script> <!– 300×250, created 11/8/11 –> <ins class=”adsbygoogle” style=”display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px” data-ad-client=”ca-pub-9452882342138416″ data-ad-slot=”0923930052″></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>

Copyright © 2023 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.