HomeSports News Extra

Okpekpe Race Organisers Hail Edo Govt, Sponsors

Okpekpe Race Organisers Hail Edo Govt, Sponsors

Pamodzi Sports Marketing, organisers of last Saturday’s sixth IAAF silver label Okpekpe International 10km Road Race in Okpekpe near Auchi, has commended Edo state government,sponsors and friends of the race who provided some financial support as well as other logistics towards the success of historic race.

Mike Itemuagbor, the Chief Executive Officer of the company, said Edo State Governor Godwin Obaseki and the good people of Edo State,especially the indigenes of the host community, Okpekpe deserve praise for their contribution towards the success of the race inspite of the windy and torrential rain.

“I want to thank the governor, Godwin Obaseki, who once again demonstrated his and his government support for the race with his physical presence and that of his deputy as well as the presence of his predecessor, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole. It shows how highly they rate the race which has brought unquantifiable recognition to the state in particular and Nigeria in general,” said Itemuagbor who also thanked corporate Nigerians who came in as sponsors and friends of the race.

“We are grateful for the support Ecobank Nigeria has given us since we became a bronze label race in 2015. In fact, this year the bank increased its financial support as its mobile app became the official Bank Service Platform for the race.

“Two of Nigeria’s leading financial institutions, Access Bank and Development Bank also threw their financial weight behind the race as Friends of the race.We say thank you.”

Itemuagbor also hailed award-winning STACO Insurance plc who served as the official insurer of the only IAAF silver label road race in Nigeria nay West Africa.

“We also recognise the tremendous support we got from Nigeria’s pioneer and largest brewing firm,Nigerian Breweries Plc. This showed our important and big the race is. We are particularly grateful to the men and women who worked as officials and volunteers and defied the heavy downpour to ensure the race was a success.We say a big thank you.”

Kenya’s Alex Kibet won the men’s race in 29:46 to become the fourth Kenyan winner of the race. Compatriots Simon Cheprot, the winner in Okpekpe in 2016, finished a distant second in 30:29 while Timothy Rono was third in 30:39.

For the women Ethiopia’s Dera Dida ran 33:01,the second fastest winning time in the history of the race to be crowned champions.

Kenya’s Sandrafelis Chebet Tuei was second in 33:33, one minute and 36 seconds shy of the PB she set earlier this year while fellow Kenyan Diana Kipyokei Chemtai was third in 34:24.

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of