HomeWorld Football

Rakitic: Modric Deserves 2018 FIFA World Best Player Award

Rakitic: Modric Deserves 2018 FIFA World Best Player Award

Croatia and Barcelona star Ivan Rakitic believes that his international teammate, Luka Modric is heads and shoulders above every other player in 2018 and should be crowned the 2018 FIFA Best Player.

Modric has already bagged UEFA’s Player of the Year award and won the 2018 FIFA World Cup MVP in Russia after leading Croatia to the reach the final where they lost to France.

He is on the three-man shortlist for FIFA’s The Best honour after also helping Real Madrid to a third successive Champions League title.

Barcelona superstar and five-time Ballon d’Or winner Messi, however, was controversially overlooked by FIFA – former Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah also in the running.


Rakitic is team-mates with Messi and is under no illusions about the 31-year-old’s standings in the game but the Barca midfielder insists Modric – who won the World Cup Golden Ball – is deserving of this year’s honours.

“There are seasons that you can be better or not,” Rakitic told reporters ahead of Croatia’s Nations League clash against Spain on Tuesday.

“For me in general the best player of the world and maybe the greatest of all time is Leo Messi. It’s easy, you take a boy, and nine of 10 boys are gonna say the same.

“But I think it was the year of Luka, sincerely, I think it’s something that Leo and all the people know, he [Modric] deserves all the awards.

“Sincerely if he received the award of the best European player… I don’t know what he has to do to be the best player of the world, with all he did.

“I don’t need to help him as a good friend of him as I’m, he made everything on himself, nobody gave him anything. For me it’s clear that he has to be Luka [for The Best award].”

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.



  • Adeniyi 4 years ago

    He doesnt….just the same way Salah doesnt deserve to be among the top 3. Messi and Ronaldo did well more than the duo last season. Salah won nothing aside his goals,Modric had just one assist in the UCL, Messi and Ronaldo both scored, assisted and won trophies.

    • Olumide Adeniyi 4 years ago

      @ my namesake, I completely disagree with you.For starters, This award always gives primary attention to players that excelled during a world cup year and definitely not the UCL. For evidence check out the winners of the award during a world cup year, Romario USA ’94, Zidane France’ 98, Ronaldo Korea/ Japan ‘2002, Cannavaro Germany ‘2006, the only exception was Lionel Messi winning it in 2010 where there no exceptional player at the world cup in south Africa. Also, 2014 it was however dicey because Messi did better at the world cup than Ronaldo but Ronaldo eventually won. Meanwhile, the previous winners from 1994- 2006 were won by players that did very well at the world cup and won it for their countries. True, Modric didn’t win the World cup with Croatia but was outstanding for the team that got to the Final and even won the UCL with Madrid. Messi had an abysmal world cup Ronaldo only shined at the opening match with Spain and both of them (Argentina and Portugal) crashed out in the 2nd round at Russia. So Modric does not only deserve to be in the top 3 but to actually deserves to win it. Salah of course is out of the question here.