Rio 2016: Nigeria’s Scorecard At FIFA Tournaments In South America

Rio 2016: Nigeria’s Scorecard At FIFA Tournaments In South America




After missing out in the football event of the London 2012 Olympics, Nigeria U-23s will be making a return when hostilities kick off at this year's Olympics in Rio.

The U-23 Eagles will do battle in Group B against Japan, Sweden and Colombia.

Flashscore: Follow the fastest live scores & results on Flashscore!

Looking ahead to the U-23 Eagles opening game against Japan on Thursday, Completesportsnigeria.com's JAMES AGBEREBI takes a look at how Nigerian teams have fared in FIFA organised competitions hosted in South America…

CHILE 1987 U-20 W/Cup (Flying Eagles: Group Stage)

Nigeria's first ever appearance in a FIFA-organised tournament hosted by a South American country was the 1987 U-20 World Cup in Chile which the Flying Eagles attended.

The Flying Eagles went into the competition as Africa's U-20 champions after claiming their third straight continental title.

Drawn in Group B, the Flying Eagles faced defending champions Brazil, Italy and Canada.

Unfortunately, everything went south for the Flying Eagles as they crashed out in the first round after losing to Brazil and Italy, 4-0 and 2-0 respectively, before playing 2-2 against Canada.

ECUADOR 1995 U-17 World Cup (Golden Eaglets: Quarter-finals)

The Golden Eaglets went to the 1995 FIFA U-17 World Cup hosted by Ecuador as world champions.

This was the first time a South American team will be hosting the cadet championship (China 1985, Canada 1987, Scotland 1989, Italy 1991, Japan 1993).

They faced Qatar, Australia and Spain in Group C.

Their opening game saw them play 1-1 against Qatar. But victories against Australia (2-0) and Spain (2-1), ensured they finished as group winners.

But the Eaglets exited the competition in the quarter-finals after losing 2-1 to Oman despite taking the lead.

COLOMBIA 2011 U-20 World Cup (Flying Eagles: Quarter-finals)

Colombia got the nod to host the 2011 U-20 FIFA World Cup with the Flying Eagles appearing as Africa's champions.

To stand a chance of winning the competition for the first time, the Flying Eagles had to navigate out of a Group D that had Guatemala, Croatia and Saudi Arabia.

In their opening game against Guatemala, the Flying Eagles won 5-0.

Their next group game saw them overcome Croatia 5-2 and ended the group stage with a 2-0 win against Saudi Arabia.

In the second round, they defeated England 1-0 to progress into the last eight.

Unfortunately, their quest for a first-ever world title came to an end following a 3-2 loss to a French side that had the likes of Gael Kakuta, Antoine Griezmann, Francis Coquelin, Alexandre Lacazette and Cedric Bakambu.

BRAZIL 2013 FIFA Confederations Cup (Super Eagles: Group Stage)

The Super Eagles made their second appearance at the FIFA Confederation Cup after making her debut in 1995 in Saudi Arabia.

After winning the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations in South Africa, the Eagles earned the right to represent Africa at the eight-nation tournament which was holding in South America for the very first time (Saudi Arabia: 1993, 1995, 1997, Mexico: 1999, Korea/Japan: 2001, France: 2003, Germany: 2005 and South Africa: 2009).

The Eagles kicked off their campaign with a 6-1 win against minnows Tahiti.

In their second group game against Uruguay, the Eagles lost 2-2.

The Eagles finally crashed out in the group stage of the tournament after losing 3-0 to Spain.

BRAZIL 2014 FIFA W/Cup (Super Eagles Second Round)

The FIFA senior World Cup returned to South America in 2014 since the last one was held in Argentina 1978.

The Super Eagles was among Africa's five representatives (Cameroon, Algeria, Cote d'Ivoire and Ghana).

For the fourth time, the Eagles were drawn against Argentina. They also faced debutant Bosnia-Herzegovina and Iran.

In their first game, they drew 0-0 against Iran before pipping Bosnia 1-0.

Despite losing 3-2 to Argentina in their last group game, the Eagles still progressed into the round of 16.

Against France in the round of 16, the Eagles lost 2-0 and went out of the tournament.

CHILE 2015 U-17 W/Cup (Golden Eaglets: Champions)

The Golden Eaglets went into the 2015 FIFA U-17 World Cup as champions.

They were in group A with hosts Chile, Croatia and USA.

Against USA, the Eaglets triumphed 2-0 and sealed qualification into the round of 16 with a group game to spare after thrashing Chile 5-1.

They lost 2-1 to Croatia in an inconsequential last group game.

From the first knock out stage, the team never looked back, beating Australia 6-0, saw off Brazil 3-0 in the quarter-finals and overcame Mexico 4-2 in the semi-finals.

The final pitted the Eaglets against West African foes Mali who they beat 2-0 and claimed their fifth U-17 World Cup title.

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.




buy windows 11 pro test ediyorum