HomeEuropean Championship

Ronaldo, Payet, Allen In Euro 2016 XI; Pogba, Ozil, Bale Out

Ronaldo, Payet, Allen In Euro 2016 XI; Pogba, Ozil, Bale Out

Portugal captain Cristiano Ronaldo, Pepe and France duo Dimitri Payet and Antoine Griezmann were included in the UEFA EURO 2016 Team of the Tournament released on Monday.

The team was selected by UEFA’s 13-strong panel of technical observers, led by UEFA chief technical officer Ioan Lupescu and including Sir Alex Ferguson, Alain Giresse, David Moyes, Packie Bonner, Mixu Paatelainen and Savo Milošević.

Others in the panel were Peter Rudbæk, Gareth Southgate, Thomas Schaaf, Jean-François Domergue, Ginés Meléndez and Jean-Paul Brigger.

Also included in the Team of the Tournament were Portugal’s Raphael Guerreiro and Rui Patricio, Germany’s Joshua Kimmich and Jerome Boateng.


Completing the list are Aaron Ramsey and Joe Allen from Wales.

There was no place in the team for France’s Paul Pogba, Germany’s Mesut Ozil Wales’ Gareth Bale and Belgium’s Eden Hazard.

Portugal were crowned European champions for the first time after defeating hosts France in the final that was played on Sunday.

EURO 2016 Team of the Tournament

Rui Patricio (Portugal)

Joshua Kimmich (Germany)
Jerome Boateng (Germany)
Pepe (Portugal)
Raphael Guerreiro (Portugal)

Toni Kroos (Germany)
Joe Allen (Wales)
Aaron Ramsey(Wales)

Dimitri Payet (France)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
Antoine Griezmann (France)

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.