HomeNews Update

Ronaldo wins third Ballon d´Or

Ronaldo wins third Ballon d´Or

Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo has been awarded his third Ballon d’Or after a stunning 2014 at the Santiago Bernabeu.

Portugal captain Ronaldo has been honoured following a year in which he broke the record for UEFA Champions League goals in a single season, scoring 17 in the 2013-14 edition as Real finally captured La Decima.


The former Manchester United man also shared the European Golden Shoe with Luis Suarez for his 31 La Liga goals last term despite being often hampered by injuries.

Although Ronaldo could not help Portugal beyond the group stage of the World Cup, his 61 goals for club and country in 2014 served as a clear demonstration of why he is worthy of football’s biggest individual prize for a second successive year.


He said when accepting the trophy: “It’s been an unforgettable year, to win this trophy of this kind is something unique.

“And what I can say is that I want to continue as I have, trying to go on to more titles.

“I should like to say to the Portuguese, I never thought I would win this trophy on three occasions, of course it’s something that is always with me.

“I wanted to become one of the greatest players of all time, this requires a lot of effort I would like to thank all of you.”


Ballon d´Or: Winners in full

Ballon d’Or: 1st: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal), 2nd: Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina), 3rd: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich/Germany)

Women’s World Player of the Year: 1st: Nadine Kessler (Wolfsburg/Germany), 2nd: Marta (Rosengard/Brazil), 3rd: Abby Wambach (Western New York Flash/United States)

Men’s Coach of the Year: 1st: Joachim Low (Germany), 2nd: Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid), 3rd: Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid)

Women’s Coach of the Year: 1st: Ralf Kellermann (Wolfsburg), 2nd: Maren Meinert (Germany Under-20s), 3rd: Norio Sasaki (Japan)

Puskas Award:1st: James Rodriguez (Real Madrid/Colombia), 2nd: Stephanie Roche (Peamount United), 3rd: Robin van Persie (Manchester United/Netherlands)

Fair Play Award: FIFA volunteers at all FIFA tournaments

Presidential Award: Hiroshi Kagawa – A veteran Japanese journalist who covered his 10th World Cup at Brazil 2014

FIFPro World XI: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich/Germany); Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid/Spain), David Luiz (Paris Saint-Germain/Brazil), Thiago Silva (Paris Saint-Germain/Brazil), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich/Germany); Andres Iniesta (Barcelona/Spain), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid/Germany), Angel di Maria (Manchester United/Argentina); Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich/Netherlands), Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portgual).



completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.