Russia 2018: Super Eagles World Cup Schedule Vs Argentina, Croatia, Iceland

Russia 2018: Super Eagles World Cup Schedule Vs Argentina, Croatia, Iceland

By Johnny Edward:
The Super Eagles of Nigeria will begin their 2018 World Cup campaign against Croatia on the 16 June, reports.

The three-time African Cup of Nations winners who qualified for the World Cup for a sixth time will face Croatia at the Kaliningrad Stadium in their opening game.

Gernot Rohr’s side will face Iceland at the Volgograd Arena six days.

The first and only time Nigeria met Iceland was in an international friendly in Reykjavik, August 22, 1981, Nigeria lost 3-0.

The Super Eagles will face Argentina in their final group game on 2 June at the Saint Petersburg Stadium in their final group game.

The Super Eagles have met Argentina four times at the World Cup and lost all the games but have never faced Croatia and Iceland in the tournament.

Nigeria qualified from the African zone with an unbeaten record, winning four of their group games and drawing two in Group D which had Zambia, Algeria and Cameroon.

Nigeria’s 2018 World Cup Group Schedule:

16 June, 2018: Croatia vs Nigeria (Kaliningrad Stadium)
22 June, 2018: Nigeria vs Iceland (Volgograd Arena)
26 June, 2018: Nigeria vs Argentina (Saint Petersburg Stadium)


Read Also: Russia 2018: Ighalo Confident Nigeria Will Survive Group D; Happy To Avoid Brazil, Germany


  • Our first game against Croatia is very crucial and vital in we qualifying from that group. If you fail to beat Croatia, then we will crash out of the tournament. Croatia has the best midfield in the world. Luka modric of Real Madrid, Rakitic of Barcelona and Manzukic of Juventus.

  • I think if we plan n prepare very well, Super Eagles will come out victorious

  • Pls are the Argentine related to Nigeria or what is the meaning of meeting in every world cup group stage1994, 2002,2010,2014,2018???

  • we can top this group if we play our cards right….we most win the first match, and continue with the same momentum in the second match against Iceland, the match against Argentina could be decide who top the group in which I believe six points can win us that group cuz other teams wont take it easy on Argentina… but most importantly, we must prepare and get a good GK and hopefully our squad would be inform and injure free…. but we have to top the group to avoid meeting France again in case of round 16.. ( 2014)

  • Ifeanyi 1 year ago

    Hmmmm another group of death. We need to prepare well there’s no two ways about it. We need to win our first two matches if we want to progress to the next stage.

  • Tony Iloka 1 year ago

    Gernot Rohr must be a football prophet in introducing 3-5-2 formation against Argentina in the recent friendly for it will come in handy against the likes of Croatia whose strenght is greater in the midfield.

  • I see us finishing this group on top with 7 points

  • We are indeed in the group of death. We need to tread cautiously..

  • The moment Nigeria super eagles realized that they will play Croatia and Argentina, they become!!!!!!!!!!

  • We fear no evil at least Argentina is a walk over

  • bello lukmon kayode 1 year ago

    up eagles

  • i am not afriad i like d selection only hardworking nd determination nd wit God on our side we are goin to do well