HomeHeadlinesNews Update

Sevilla Retain Europa League

Sevilla Retain Europa League

Spanish side Sevilla defeated Dnipro of Ukraine 3-2 in a thrilling Europa League final on Wednesday night to retain the trophy they won last year.

Sevilla then became the first side in history to win the Europa League four times following that victory in Warsaw, Poland.


Carlos Bacca scored twice in a topsy-turvy affair to fire Sevilla to a second consecutive title, becoming the first team to retain the crown in its current guise.

In an entertaining first half Dnipro stunned their more illustrious opponents when former Blackburn Rovers striker Nikola Kalinic headed them into a shock lead.

Zenith Ziva

 Sevilla, however, replied with two goals in three minutes.

First, Poland’s Grzegorz Krychowiak delighted the locals when he calmly controlled Colombian Carlos Bacca’s lay off before sidefooting the equaliser.

With Dnipro still reeling ex-£20m Arsenal man Jose Antonio Reyes split the defence with a measured through ball for Bacca to put Emery’s Andalusians 2-1 up.

That strike saw a rally from the Ukranians, who have played every home match in the tournament 243 miles from home thanks to the crisis in the east of the country.

And they went into the break level when skipper Ruslan Rotan, who revealed players had dipped into their own pockets to pay for fans to make the trip, clipped a free-kick into the top corner from the edge of the box.

The Spaniards were not to be denied, however, and won it when Bacca seized on Vitolo’s thorugh ball to fire the winner.

completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.