HomeNigeria National Teams

U-17 AFCON Zonal Qualifiers: Eaglets Face CIV, Ghana, Mali, Three others

U-17 AFCON Zonal Qualifiers: Eaglets Face CIV, Ghana, Mali, Three others

By Johnny Edward:

Nigeria’s U-17 team, the Golden Eaglets will battle Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana,Togo, Burkina Faso, Niger, and Benin in Niger for the sole ticket for the CAF U-17 Africa Cup of Nations to be hosted by Tanzania, reports Completesportsnigeria.com.

Nigeria’s U-17 Africa Cup of Nations zonal qualifiers will kick off from the 9th of September to the 18th 2018 in Niger Republic.

The CAF U-17 Africa Cup of Nations will hold from the 12th to the 26th of May, 2019. Mali are the defending champions of the tournament.

The qualifiers for the U-17 Africa Cup of Nations will for the first time be played on a regional basis to determine the seven teams to join host Tanzania for next year’s final tournament according to a media statement from CAF.

The new format approved by the CAF Executive Committee is expected to increase participation at the level of teams in the qualifiers, enhanced exposure and competitiveness by getting all involved CAF General Secretary Amr Fahmy revealed in the statement on CAF on Thursday.

“The response has been great. A total of 49 Member Associations, have confirmed their participation, which is a record compared to the previous years. We will get to see teams that never participated and rarely made an impact at the youth level,” said CAF General Secretary Amr Fahmy.

“The U-17 is the nursery of our competitions and every eligible player must be given the opportunity to participate.  We have been preparing for the past months in the areas of logistics, organisation and infrastructure, and I can confidently say, we are ready for the kick off.”

Each of the six zonal unions (CECAFA, COSAFA, UNAF, UNIFFAC, WAFU A, WAFU B) will organise their regional qualifiers featuring teams from the zone and Nigeria is drawn in WAFU B alongside Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana,Togo, Burkina Faso, Benin and hosts, Niger.

The qualifiers will take off from Mauritius (COSAFA from 19 to 29 July 2018), through Equatorial Guinea (UNIFFAC from 3rd to 12th August 2018), Tanzania (CECAFA 11th to 26th August 2018), Tunisia (UNAF 20th to 28th August 2018), Senegal (WAFU A 2nd to 15th September 2018) before terminating in Niger (WAFU B  9th to 18th September 2018).

The winner of each zonal competition qualifies for the final tournament, with the exception of the zone of the previous winner, entitled to two slots. Since Mali won the title in 2017, WAFU A will qualify two teams.

Meanwhile, all players selected for the tournament are expected to undergo mandatory Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) to determine their eligibility to participate.



Host Country: Mauritius

Participating teams (12): Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique,Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Date: 19 to 29 July 2018


Host Country: Equatorial Guinea

Participating teams (8): Cameroon, Central Africa, Congo, Guinea Equatorial, Gabon, RD Congo, Sao Tome, and Chad.

Date: 3 to 12 August 2018


Host country: Tanzania

Participating teams (10): Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, Sudan, Ethiopia,South Sudan, Somalia, Djibouti

Date: 11 to 26 August 2018.


Host Country: Tunisia

Participating teams (4): Tunisia, Morocco, Algeria, Libya

Date: 20 to 28 August 2018


Host country: Niger

Participating teams (7): Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Nigeria, Togo, Burkina Faso, Niger, and Benin

Date: 2 to 15 September 2018


Host country – Senegal

Participating teams: (8) Cape Verde, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mauritania,

Senegal and Sierra Leone.

Date: 9 to 18 September 2018

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.



  • This will NOT guarantee the participation of the best teams. This is like saying that the African Nations Cup qualifiers will be played based on regional groups. Say they permit only 2 teams per region, who will qualify between Nigeria, Ghana, Ivory Coast, and Senegal?…

    Just musing though…

  • Greenturf 3 years ago

    Caf got it all wrong.Pairing the likes of Ghana ivory Coast Nigeria to hustle for one slot is weakening the African representation.
    Apparently this teams are the best the continent has at this level and only one team is guaranteed a slot this is absurd and bizarre.
    However the new caf president in his zeal to change things could find himself changing them rather to the destruction of what has been achieved by his predecessors.

  • Barth 3 years ago

    This is bizarre, Caf envy West Africa for their global Junior cup feats. West Africa has dominated this cup since when fifa introduced it. Caf should allow Africa’s best to represent them, I see a big sentiment here!. When will Africa get things done the right way?. Caf! Do not kill our darling African young buds footballers with sentiments!.

    • Barth,
      Truth is… When I first saw the news… First thing that came to mind was “quota system”… When one substitutes “equal representation” over merits, mediocrity becomes the case.

  • What is the point of this zonal format? I really don’t get it.

  • Joseph 3 years ago

    Thank you guys! I thought I was the only one seeing this! That means Ghana and Nigeria will never represent Africa at the same time at this level anymore! This is absolutely nonsense. That means we’ll be seeing the likes of Tanzania Libya, Cape Verde or Gambia representing Africa, this’s rediculous and funny! Ghana and Nigeria had played at the U17 world cup final before, defeating the likes of Argentina, Germany etc to get to the finals. Ivory Coast is equally good but obviously only one of them will go through. Brazil, Germany, Argentina will be very happy with this CAF new system. We’ll start to experiencing 10-1, 9-0,11-2 against African countries! South America can never give Brazil and Argentina just one slot! NEVER! They would rather put 12 of them together and 5 to to qualify. Ha!! ha! Ghana ,Nigeria and Civ. in one group and one to qualify, and the qualified will now meet Libya, Gambia etc! Hmm! Africa when shall we learn?

  • Honestly, this is quite absurd! How could CAF come up with this idea. OK, they now want regional representation at the world cup instead of the best from Africa. With this kind of arrangement, how possible can we have two African countries playing each other in the final match of the under 17 world cup as we had in 1993(Ghana vs Nigeria) and recently in 2015( Mali vs Nigeria). Oh! CAF should cancel this arrangement as it is not yet late to do so unless they want an African team winning the cup to be a mirage.