HomeHeadlinesTop Features

What A Miss! The Uncrowned Kings Of African Football‎.

What A Miss! The Uncrowned Kings Of African Football‎.

The 2015 Africa Player of the Year Award has come and gone. After four years of dominance by Cote d'Ivoire's Yaya Toure, Gabon striker Pierre Emerick-Aubameyang, was crowned as Africa's best for 2015.

Think back. Go down the memory‎ lane – the history of African Player Of The Year Award winners, starting from Pierre Emerick-Aubameyang. Let's discuss some obvious puzzles down the lane.

Completesportsnigeria.com's JAMES AGBEREBI takes the lead, highlighing six African legends who were unlucky never to have won the continent's most prestigious individual football recognition.

Have an addition to highlight? Use the "Leave A Reply" field below this write-up ‎and have your say.

Zenith Ziva



Austin Jay Jay Okocha was one of the finest footballers to ever come out of Nigeria and Africa.

The diminutive midfield maestro was a delight to watch, thanks to his mesmerising skills which left not a few spellbound.

Okocha appeared in six Africa Cup of Nations and in 1994 in Tunisia, he helped Nigeria to emerge champions.

He featured for Nigeria at three FIFA World Cups and won a gold medal at the 1996 Atlanta Olympics.

And amongst some of Okocha's individual honours include: Runner-up, 1998 African Player of the Year, FIFA Word Cup All-Star Team (Reserve) France 1998, Most Valuable Player AFCON 2004, scorer of the 1000th AFCON goal, 2003 and 2004 BBC African Player of the Year, and listed among the 125 living footballers by Pele in 2004.

In 2001, Okocha was voted number 12 on the greatest African footballers of the past 50 years list, on a poll conducted by CAF to coincide with their 50th anniversary.

And in 2005, he was voted Bolton Wanderers Footballer of the Year.

He never won the prestigious African Player Of The Year Award.


Just like most of his contemporaries, Anthony Yeboah never had the chance to showcase his talents at the FIFA World Cup.

But the left-footer, could be described as one of Ghana's greatest players.

Yeboah featured in three Africa Cup of Nations for Ghana. And he is currently Ghana's third highest goalscorer with 29 goals in 59 appearances, behind Abedi Pele and Asamoah Gyan.

Yeboah came third in the 1992 African Player of the Year award before finishing runner-up in 1993.

Top scorer in the Ghanian league in 1986 and 1987, Yeboah was Bundesliga highest goal scorer in 1992-1993 and 1993-1994 seasons.

He was ninth in the FIFA Player of the Year in 1993, and was voted Leeds United and Ghana Footballer of the Year in 1996 and 1997 respectively.


He never won the prestigious African Player Of The Year Award.



The late Jules Bucande was regarded as one of the West Africa's best footballers of all time.

The dreadlocks-wearing striker had the privilege of representing Senegal at three African Cup of Nations (1986, 1990 and 1994).

Bocande, who happened to be among the first set of Senegalese footballers to ply their trade in France, was Ligue 1 top scorer in the 1985-1986 season.

And in 2009, he was named an African Football Legend by CAF. 


He never won the prestigious African Player Of The Year Award.


Egypt's all-time top scorer with 69 goals in 176 appearances, the name Hossam Hassan, will continue to linger in the minds of football lovers in Africa.

Hassan, whose twin brother, Ibrahim, also featured for the Pharaohs, appeared in seven Africa Cup of Nations.

Amongst the seven AFCON he appeared, Hassan was champion with Egypt in three; 1986, 1998 and 2006.

At the 1998 AFCON, Hassan was joint top scorer with South Africa's Beni McCarthy, scoring seven goals.

And he was a member of Egypt's 1990 FIFA World Cup squad in Italy, where they held Holland and Republic of Ireland to draws before losing 1-0 to England.


He never won the prestigious African Player Of The Year Award.



Known for his physicality and no-nonsense stance on the pitch, Samuel Ossei Kuffour was one of the best talents to come out of the former Gold Coast and on the continent of Africa.

An U-17 World Cup winner in 1991 and a bronze medallist at Barcelona 1992 Olympics, Kuffour spent 13 years with the Black Stars.

Kuffour made four AFCON appearances for Ghana and was at the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany.

At club level, Kuffour featured for one of Europe's elite sides, Bayern Munich. And while at Bayern, he won six Bundesliga titles, four DFB Pokal, one UEFA Champions League and one Intercontinental Cup.

Kuffour won Ghana Player of the Year thrice; 1998, 1999 and 2001.

He was the Intercontinental Cup MVP Award winner in 2001 and also was voted BBC African Footballer of the Year.

And in 2007, CAF voted him as a member of the Top 30 African Players of all-time.


He never won the prestigious African Player Of The Year Award.



Mohammed Abouterika could be described as one of Africa's best players never to play in Europe.

Abouterika scored 38 goals in 100 appearances for Egypt. He also won two AFCON titles with the Pharaohs in 2006 and 2008 where he scored the only goal in the final against Cameroon.

The forward was at the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup in South Africa where he gave the assist in Egypt's 1-0 win against Italy in a group game.

In London 2012 Olympics, Abouterika was one of the three over-age players in the Egyptian squad, helping them to the quarter-final.

Abouterika came close to being crowned African Player of the Year in 2008 but lost out to Emmanuel Adebayor.

He won the Best Player Based in Africa award four times; 2006, 2008, 2012 and 2013.


He never won the prestigious African Player Of The Year Award.



Have additional name, or some to say? Use the "Leave A Reply" field below and have your say.


completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.