Yaya Toure Is 4th Time CAF Player Of The Year

Yaya Toure Is 4th Time CAF Player Of The Year

Asisat Oshoala Is African Women Best Player

Cote d’ Ivoire and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure on Thursday night retained his CAF African Footballer of the Year crown in a colourful ceremony held at the Eko Hotels and Suites, Lagos.

The mercurial Ivorien pipped Super Eagles captain Vincent Enyeama and Gabon’s Pierre Emerick Aubameyang to the 2014 prize which he has now won four consecutive times since 2011.

Toure who will represent his country in the 2015 African Cup of Nations that
kick off in Equatorial Guinea on 17 January has thus joined now retired Cameroon legend Samuel Eto’O in winning the award a record four times.

The Awards began with the Masters of Ceremony; South Africa’s journalist,
Robert Marawa and Ghanaian award-winning actress, Joselyn Dumas introducing dignitaries present at the Gala night.

The Nigerian national anthem was sung and followed immediately by wonderful
musical performances, first by Nigeria’s Flavour.

Other artistes who performed on the night include: Uhuru, Hakim, Omawumi,
Acapella Trio, Diamond Platinumz, Soweto Gospel Choir, Lagbaja, Fali Ipupa,
Asem and Psquare. Stand-up comedian Basketmouth also conducted the draw for winner of the Predict and Win Promo.

CAF President Issa Hayatou and the Executive Director of Legal Services of Glo, Gladys Talabi, were on stage for the opening speeches just before the announcement of winners on the night.

Algeria were awarded the Men National Team of the Year beating off competition from Libya and Nigeria.

Nigeria’s senior national team, Super Falcons deservedly won the Women National Team of the Year ahead of their U20 compatriots, the Super Falconets and Cameroon. Nigeria Football Federation President, Amaju Pinnick, picked the award on behalf of the Falcons.

The next category of award was for the African Club of the Year and Algeria’s ES Setif were winners. The North Africans beat fellow north Africans AL Ahly of Egypt and DR Congo’s AS Vita.

The CAF Fair Play Award went to the memory of late Albert Ebosse.

Algeria’s Yacine Brahimi went home with the award for the Most Promising
Talent of the Year. The skilfull youngster won the prize at the expense of Cameroon duo, Clinton N’ Jie and Vincent Aboubakar.

The crowd at the Award night gave a loud ovation when the name of Asisat Oshoala was announced by the comperes as the Nigerian youthful striker won
the award for the Youth Player of the Year. The Most Valuebale Player of the 2014 FIFA Women U20 World Cup had fellow Nigerian star, Uchechi Sunday and
Cameroon’s Fabrice Ondoa (male) in the list of nominees for this award.

Oshoala was also on the breathtaking stage to pick up the award for the continent’s Women Player of the Year. Fellow Super Falcons striker Desire Oparanozie made the shortlist, alongside Annette Ngo Ndom of Cameroon.

The Coach of the Year prize went to Kheiriddine Madoui of ES Setif Football Club of Algeria. The Referee of the Year was won by Gambia’s Papa Bakary Gassama.

Below are the full winners
African Player of the Year (in alphabetical order)
Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester City)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa
Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo and AS Vita)

Women’s Player of the Year
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)

Youth Player of the Year
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)

Most Promising Talent
Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and Porto)

Coach of the Year
Kheireddine Madoui (ES Setif)

National Team of the Year

Women’s National Team of the Year

Club of the Year
ES Setif (Algeria)

Referee of the Year
Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)

Football Leader of the Year
Moise Katumbi Chapwe – President of TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

African Legend award
Oryx Club (Cameroon) – winners of the maiden edition of CAF Champions League 1964
Stade Malien (Mali) – runner up of the maiden edition of CAF Champion’s League 1964

Platinum Award
Dr Kwame Nkrumah (First President of Ghana)
His Excellency Goodluck Jonthan (President of Nigeria)

CAF Finest XI
Goalkeeper: Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria)
Defenders: Jean Kasulula (DR Congo), Mehdi Benatia (Morocco), Stephane Mbia (Cameroon), Kwadwo Asamoah (Ghana)
Midfielders: Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire), Yacine Brahimi (Algeria), Fakhreddine Ben Youssef (Tunisia), Ahmed Musa (Nigeria)
Forwards: Asamoah Gyan (Ghana), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)

Raïs M’Bolhi (Algeria), Firmin Mubele Ndombe (DR Congo), Ferdjani Sassi (Tunisia), Yao Kouasi Gervais ‘Gervinho (Cote d’Ivoire), Abdelrahman Fetori (Libya), Akram Djahnit (Algeria), Roger Assalé (Cote d’Ivoire)

<script async src=”//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js”></script> <!– 300×250, created 11/8/11 –> <ins class=”adsbygoogle” style=”display:inline-block;width:300px;height:250px” data-ad-client=”ca-pub-9452882342138416″ data-ad-slot=”0923930052″></ins> <script> (adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); </script>