HomeSports News Extra

2017 Okpekpe Race Champion, Gebreselassie Chases First Major Marathon Win To London

2017 Okpekpe Race Champion, Gebreselassie Chases First Major Marathon Win To London

Leul Gebreselassie, the second Ethiopian man to win the men’s title at the Okpekpe International 10km Road Race will be gunning for his first major marathon win on Sunday at the London Marathon, one of the six major Marathons in the world.

The other world’s five major marathons are Boston, Berlin, New York, Tokyo and Chicago.

The Ethiopian came very close two years ago when he ran 2:05:12 to place second behind Kenya’s Amos Kipruto (2:04:39).

It was an improvement on his eighth place finish in 2019 (2:07:15) while last year he placed third.

Also Read: ‘He Needs Something Better’ — Chippa United Chief Confirms Nwabali Could Leave This Summer

The Ethiopian will be looking to go one step better than he did in 2022 but will have to contest against an elite field led by his countryman, Kenenisa Bekele, a two-time major winner who holds a 2:10:41 lifetimes best he ran to win the Berlin marathon in 2019.


Leul Gebreselassie (r) receives his winner’s trophy from Edo State Governor, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, at the third Okpekpe International 10km Road Race in 2017

The three time Olympics 5000m and 1000m champion and five time World 5000m and 10000m champion is not the only athlete that will stand between Gebreselassie and a first major win as he will have to run faster than four other Ethiopians who are among the top 10 contenders for the title as well as Kenya’s Alexander Mutiso Munyao who raced into reckoning last December in Valencia, Spain where he ran 2:03:11.

Gebrselasie ran 29;28 to win the men’s title at the third edition of the Okpekpe International 10km Road Race.

The 31 year old won the bronze medal in the marathon event at the World Athletics Championships in Budapest, Hungary to become the second Okpekpe Race winner to make the podium at the competition after Kenya’s Daniel Ebenyo who won the 10,000m silver medal.

Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of


Update cookies preferences