HomeNigeria National Teams

2022 WAFCON: Four Super Falcons Stars Arrive Abuja, 21 Players Now In Camp

2022 WAFCON: Four Super Falcons Stars Arrive Abuja, 21 Players Now In Camp

The quartet of Amanda Uju Mbadim, Toni Payne, Yewande Balogun and Michelle Alozie are the latest arrivals at the Super Falcons Abuja camp, ahead of the 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations.

Their arrival was announced on the Super Falcons‘ verified Twitter handle on Saturday morning.

Following the latest development, the number of players already in camp is now 21.

Meanwhile, the likes of Francisca Ordega, Ashleigh Plumptre, Desire Oparanozie and Uchenna Kanu are still being expected.

The Falcons are in Group C with South Africa, Burundi and Botswana.

Also Read: WAFCON 2022: South Africa Coach Drops Five Players

Their opening game is against South Africa on 4th July in Rabat.

The 2022 WAFCON will be the 14th edition and will be hosted by Morocco from 2 to 23 July 2022.

Also, the tournament doubles as the African qualifiers to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Four teams will qualify for the 2023 World Cup and two more teams will advance to the inter-confederation play-offs.

Going into this year’s WAFCON the Falcons would be targeting a 10th title which they last won in 2018.

Copyright © 2024 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.


  • Moses Inyang 2 years ago

    Why is Ghana almost completely forgotten in women football? @ self made over to you

  • Wow 10 out of 14. This will surely go into record in future, let’s go ladies.

    • Istpeter 2 years ago

      @ femi
      It is going to be 12 out of 14,the super falcons has already won 11 titles.

    • GentleD 2 years ago

      @Completesports, abeg stop confusing and misinforming the public. It doesn’t appear anybody verifies or edits your stories against some quality gates before releasing to press.

      There has been 11 WAFCON editions (2020 edition was cancelled due to covid). Super Falcons has won 9 of those 11 editions and Equitorial Guinea won the two other editions.

      Please educate your team from the FIFA site below;


    • Emecco 2 years ago

      Officially Nigeria had won 11 titles and not 9, The Women world Cup qualifiers in 1991 and 1995 which Falcons won and were African sole representatives were recorded as titles because Trophies were awarded, Though the Awcon tournament started in 1998, We have already won 2 title before or became a tournament.

      • GentleD 2 years ago

        Bros, why you dey contradict yasef nah. The body wey dey organize the tournament CAF says it is 11 WAFCON editions and Nigeria got 9 trophies and EQG got 2 trophies but here you are making the shikini matter look like some difficult CALCULUS…

  • Ekpeye Man 2 years ago

    11th titles not 10 ….

Update cookies preferences