2024 T20 Cricket World Cup Winner Predictions

2024 T20 Cricket World Cup Winner Predictions

The 2024 ICC T20 World Cup qualification phase has been completed, and teams are set for the tournament proper. The event will be held between June 1-29 with two nations, the USA and West Indies, co-hosting. England are the defending champions of this biennial tournament and will seek to retain the title this year. Will England be able to retain the trophy and win their third title, or will we see another team turn up for the challenge?

Who will Win the 9th Edition of the T20 World Cup?

This tournament has only had six winners from eight editions. The inaugural edition was in 2007, and the competition has witnessed outstanding performances from participating countries since then. This edition will most certainly be a contest of the best cricket players in the world, with some of the teams hoping to win their first-ever T20 World Cup.

Having won the competition twice, the most by a team, England and West Indies make our list of the favorite teams to win the ninth edition of the ICC T20 World Cup. England, for instance, won the ODI Cricket World Cup in 2019 and went on to win their second T20 World Cup in 2022, showing the quality of the team.

Like England, the West Indies are a formidable side. They are looking to win their third title, this time as host nation.

Another exciting side capable of winning the T20 World Cup is India. They are currently the highest-ranked T20I team and have an interesting record, winning five major ICC tournaments, including the first edition of the T20 World Cup.

Related: African Games 2023: Team Nigeria Wins Bronze In Cricket

There’s no doubt that they are one of the most successful teams in the world of cricket. Hence, we expect them to put on a show in the West Indies and the USA. Other worthy mentions include 6-time ODI World Cup winners Australia, who have also lifted the T20 World Cup title. New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and South Africa are other sides to watch out for.

Cricket fans worldwide are anticipating the T20 Cricket World Cup. Those who also plan to back their preferred teams or players will find cricket betting options backing India as the favorite with odds of 3/1. Australia and England follow behind with odds of 7/2 and 4/1, respectively. Other notable countries are South Africa with odds of 13/2, New Zealand at 8/1, and Pakistan at 9/1.

Which Teams Have Been Most Successful at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup?

The table below highlights the six different winners since the first edition in 2007 and the number of titles they’ve won.

T20 Cricket World Cup Winners Titles Most Recent Title
England 2 2022
West Indies 2 2016
Pakistan 1 2009
Sri Lanka 1 2014
Australia 1 2021
India 1 2007

The 2024 T20 World Cup will be the ninth edition because the tournament wasn’t held until 2021 after the 2016 edition. The International Cricket Council canceled the 2018 edition because of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy, while the 2020 edition was shifted until 2021.

With preparations for the T20 World Cup in full gear, fans are eagerly anticipating the events. Interestingly, it will be the first top-tier ICC event hosted by the USA. Two-time winners West Indies will co-host the event and fans can understandably expect a lot from this edition of the tournament.

Copyright © 2024 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.


Update cookies preferences