HomeSports News Extra

Akinwunmi, Dikko, Uchegbulam, Eight Others Cleared For NFF Presidential Race

Akinwunmi, Dikko, Uchegbulam, Eight Others Cleared For NFF Presidential Race

Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) first Vice President Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi, second Vice President Shehu Dikko and Amanze Uchegbulam are among the eleven candidates cleared for the presidential race of the country’s football body.

The NFF unveiled the cleared candidates in a release published on their website on Tuesday.

Also in the race are former Super Eagles goalkeeper Peterside Idah, Musa Amadu, Ibrahim Gusau and UK-based David Doherty.

The NFF elections is billed for Friday, 30th September in Benin City, Edo State.

The release from NFF read:”The NFF Electoral Committee 2022 has cleared a total of 11 persons to contest for the position of NFF President at the Federation’s elections scheduled for Friday, 30th September in Benin City.

“Top on the list are current 1st Vice President, Barr. Seyi Akinwunmi; current 2nd Vice President, Mallam Shehu Dikko; current Chairman of Chairmen, Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau; current Member of Board, Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande; immediate past General Secretary, Barr. Musa Amadu and; Head of Safety and Security of the Confederation of African Football, Dr. Christian Emeruwa.

“Also cleared for the exalted post, to be vacated by FIFA Council Member, Mr Amaju Melvin Pinnick, are former NFF 1st Vice President, Mazi Amanze Uchegbulam; Chairman of the FCT Football Association, Mallam Adam Mouktar Mohammed; former Nigeria international goalkeeper, Peterside Idah; former Chairman of Kano Pillars FC and respected technocract, Alhaji Abba Abdullahi Yola and; UK-based David-Buhari Doherty.

Also Read: Your Place May Never Be Guaranteed Again, Conte Warns Son

“Mr. Paul Yusuf from Plateau State was disqualified as a result of invalid nomination; the same axe that swept Mr. Marcellinus Anyanwu from Imo State out of the race.

“Three persons, viz current Member of Board, Chief Felix Anyansi-Agwu; current Member of Board, Senator Obinna Ogba and; Mr Chinedu Okoye will battle for the post of 1st Vice President.

“Current Member of Board, Alhaji Yusuf Ahmed ‘Fresh’ was the only one who obtained the form, and has been cleared for, the position of Chairman of Chairmen.

“Contesting for seats on the Executive Committee from the South East are: Pastor Emeka Inyama (Abia State); Mr. Chikelue Iloenyosi (Anambra State); Mr Karibe Pascal Ojigwe (Abia State); Mr. Jude Benjamin Obikwelu (Anambra State) and; Sir Emmanuel Ochiagha (Imo State).

“For North Central are Alhaji Mohammed Alkali (Nasarawa State); Rt. Hon. Margaret Icheen (Benue State); Hon. Idris Abdullahi Musa (Kwara State); Mr. Daniel Amokachi (Benue State) and; Mr. Benedict Akwuegbu (Plateau State).

“Current Member of Board, Ms Aisha Falode tops the list of candidates from the South South region, with Chief Kenneth Nwaomucha (Delta State); Mr. Gregory Abang (Cross River State); Mr. Roland Abu Omomoh (Edo State); Barr. Poubeni Ogun (Bayelsa State); Mr Jarret Tenebe (Edo State) and; Rt. Hon. Essien Udofot (Akwa Ibom State) also vying for seats from that zone.

“Current Member of Board, Alhaji Ganiyu Majekodunmi leads the list of contestants for seats from the South West, with Otunba Sunday Dele-Ajayi (Ondo State); Alhaji Olawale Gafar Liameed (Lagos State); Mr. Afolabi Taiwo Olugbenga (Osun State); Mr. Ayodeji Adegbenro (Ondo State) and Barr. Pelumi Jacob Olajengbesi also in the race. Mr. Ayodeji Ogunjobi (Osun State) was disqualified for not providing evidence of tax payment.

“North East candidates are current Member of Board, Alhaji Babagana Kalli (Borno State); Barr. Sajo Mohammed (Adamawa State) and; Mr. Timothy Henman Magaji (Taraba State)

“Current Member of Board, Alhaji Sharif Rabiu Inuwa (Kano State) is the only candidate from the North West.”

Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of


Update cookies preferences