HomeSports News Extra

Edo State RFC Wins The First National Women’s Rugby Sevens Tournament

Edo State RFC Wins The First National Women’s Rugby Sevens Tournament

Edo State Rfc wins the first National Women’s Rugby Sevens Tournament in Asaba hosted by the Delta State Government after defeating Gosar Rugby Club of Lagos 17 – 0 in the nail biting final match amidst heavy downpours in the first half.×

Edo Rfc Center; Becky Okitikpi opened the scoring in the second minute when she received an offload from playmaker Augusta Mene to score under the post. conversion was misssed by Augusta. The ladies from Benin City dominated the breakdown and pinned Gosar in their half for most part of the first half as it ended 5-0 in extremely wet conditions as the heavy rain continues to pour.

The second half kicked off with Edo on the front foot and it wasn’t long before their prop; Precious Ukwuoma picked up a loose ball and dived over the whitewash for their second try.

Gosar attempted several come back efforts through their winger; Godfirst Samson and playmaker Rukayat Salami but were prevented by a well coordinated Edo Rfc defence line whilst the Edo playmaker; Augusta controlled the pace of the game.

Winger, Chinaza Abbah broke the Gosar defence line to score the third and final try to seal the victory for team Edo converted this time by Augusta. 17-0 it ended as Edo Rfc held on to possession to see off their sweet victory.

Related: Nigeria’s Black Stallions Move Up To 11th From 24th In Latest Rugby Ranking

The highest try scorer went to Bekky Okitikpi of Edo Rfc with 9 tries and Most Valuable Player award went to Godfirst Samson of Gosar who had 7 tries.

The tournament was sponsored by the Delta State Government, supported by Buga Win Sports betting company, United Planet Media, SYDA and Africa Sports Connect.

Edo State Rfc

Day 2 Scores

Cup Quarter Finals
Edo Rrc 27 Vs 0 Benue Buffalos
Delta A 7 Vs 0 Anambra Angles
Delta B 24 Vs 0 Eastern Springbok
Gosar 17 Vs 0 Imo Pyramids

9th Place Semi Finals
Eco II 15 Vs Abia 0
Nig Police (0) Vs Eco II (10)

7th Place Final
Benue Buffalo (5) Vs (0) Eastern Springbok

5th Place Final
Imo Pyramids (10) Vs (0) Anambra Angles

Semi Finals
Edo Rfc 24  Vs 0 Delta Rfc (A)
Delta Rfc (B) 10 Vs 15 Gosar Rfc

3rd Place Match
Delta (A) 15  Vs 5 Delta (B)

Edo Rfc 17  Vs  0 Gosar Rfc

Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of


Update cookies preferences