HomeWorld Football

FIFA Best Awards To Hold 17 December

FIFA Best Awards To Hold 17 December

World football governing body FIFA has announced that the Best FIFA Football Awards 2020 will hold 17 December.

FIFA made the announcement in a statement released on their official website.

“FIFA is happy to announce that The Best FIFA Football Awards 2020 will take place on 17 December 2020.

“This year, it has been clearer than ever that nothing is more important than health. The protagonists of the game have taken on greater responsibility, not just as players, but also as role models giving hope to communities everywhere and sharing messages of unity in the face of the ongoing public health crisis.

Also Read: Akpoborie: Rohr Now A Liability In Super Eagles

“Following the safe resumption of competitions, thanks to a combination of hard work and solidarity across our sport, football has provided a rare source of comfort and joy to many. Thus, it is important that FIFA honour such achievements in this extraordinary year.

“In line with public health precautions and FIFA’s guiding principle that health comes first, it has been decided that the awards ceremony will be held as a virtual event only.

“Despite the special circumstances this year, FIFA will hand out prizes in the following categories in the 2020 edition of The Best FIFA Football Awards:The Best Women’s Player, The Best Men’s Player, The Best Women’s Coach, The Best Men’s Coach, The Best Women’s Goalkeeper, The Best Men’s Goalkeeper, FIFPRO Women’s World11, FIFPRO Men’s World11, Fair Play Award, Puskás Award, Fan Award.

“Another thing that has not changed is how The Best incorporates the views of four pillars of the footballing world. The recipients of the trophies for the top players and coaches in both women’s and men’s football will be determined through a combined voting process involving the captains and head coaches of all national teams around the globe, an online ballot of fans and submissions from a select group of more than 200 media representatives.

“Moreover, while in 2019, The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper and The Best Men’s Goalkeeper were chosen by a dedicated panel, the outstanding figures between the sticks will also be crowned by players, coaches, journalists and fans this year.

“Receiving the trophy means being recognised by those who are the heart and soul of the football community, which is what makes The Best FIFA Football Awards so special.

“Voting will start on 25 November and end on 9 December. For more information on the voting process for each of The Best FIFA Football Awards, see their respective Rules of Allocation.”

The first awarding ceremony was held on 9 January 2017 in Zurich, Switzerland. 

Cristiano Ronaldo has won it the most with two back-to-back awards for his years 2016 and 2017 respectively while Lionel Messi is the current holder after winning the award in 2019.

completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.