Sergio Garcia will reportedly not face any disciplinary action after being found guilty of deliberately damaging greens in Saudi Arabia.
At the inaugural Saudi International, Garcia was frustrated with his own play and damaged five of the first nine greens by dragging his shoes along the ground and causing a divot in one of the holes, which was noticed by the following groups of players.
Despite the best effort of the green-staff to repair the damage, it still remained for the entire round and put other players off in their tracks.
The 39-year-old was disqualified at the end of the round under rule 1.2a in the European Tour code which reads “players are expected to play in the spirit of the game by acting with integrity, showing consideration to others and taking good care of the course”.
Garcia apologised publicly and also to the players that went behind him and it is believed that his remorse for his actions has convinced authorities not to suspend him..
Accepting the punishment, Garcia said: “I respect the decision of my disqualification. In frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, for which I apologise, and I have informed my fellow players that it will never happen again.”Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.