HomeSports News Extra

Lekki 10km Road Race: First Edition Winners Repeat Winning Feats

Lekki 10km Road Race: First Edition Winners Repeat Winning Feats

The second edition of the community marathon series tagged Lekki 10km road Race saw a repeat of the first edition winners repeating their winning feat.

Ismael Sadjo of Cross River state and Joy Abiye David of Ondo State made it back to back victories in the second edition of the Community Marathon Series which took place over the weekend in Lagos.

Sadjo breasted the tape first in the male category of the Lekki 10km Road race, while David won the female event.

Joy Abiye David, winner in the female category

Sadjo, who was listed as an elite runner, after the success he recorded at the Festac 10km road race, took the lead from the 2km spot of the race and held on to claim a cash prize of one million naira.

Also Read: Dare Assures On Early Completion Of National Stadium Lagos

Paul James emerged as the first runner-up while Francis James bagged the second runner-up position.

David of Ondo State picked the ultimate prize in the female category in a time of 35 minutes 24 seconds, while the second and third position went to the duo of Rose Akusho and Patience Mwanvwan of Plateau State.

David, who also won the Festac 10km road race in 2021, declared her intentions to claim the top prize before the start of the race, while stating that the race will get her ready for the Lagos City Marathon.

The race which featured over 700 athletes as well as running clubs from all over the country, was keenly contested from the start of the event up till the closing stages.

Some of the athletes who suffered exhaustion during and after the race, were given medical attention by Euracare Wellness Centre and Dove heights.

Project director of the Marathon Series, Moses Nwanze, commended all the athletes who registered for the Lekki 10km Road race. He also had good words for those who competed in the non-competitive Category.

According to him the event experienced some hitch prior to the commencement of the race, due to some vendor’s who couldn’t deliver some essentials needed for the event on time.

Cash prizes were presented to winners by sponsors which include the Brand Manger, Amstel Malta Tobiloba Obawede, the MD/CEO of VCN Sports, Frapapa Bet, the vice Chairman of Eti Osa Local Government and Vice Chairman Lekki Residents.

There were other side attractions such as the raffle draw for participants to win gym equipments.

The date for the next Community Marathon Series tagged Asaba 10km Road race would be announced soon.

Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of


Update cookies preferences