HomeWorld Football

Lewandowski, Neuer, De Bruyne Nominated For UEFA Player of the Year award

Lewandowski, Neuer, De Bruyne Nominated For UEFA Player of the Year award

Bayern Munich duo Manuel Neuer and Robert Lewandowski and Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne are the three players shortlisted for the 2019/20 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award.

UEFA today (Wednesday) announced the names of the three players for the award,  which will take place on Thursday 1 October during the 2020/21 UEFA Champions League group stage draw ceremony.

The shortlist of three players was selected by a jury composed of 80 coaches of the clubs which participated in the group stages of the 2019/20 UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League, together with 55 journalists from each of UEFA’s 55 member associations, selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group.

The coaches and journalists were requested to select a shortlist of three players by allocating respectively five points, three points and one point to each of them. 

The final result was based on the total number of votes cast by the coaches and the journalists. The coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own team.

Aside from the UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year, other categories are UEFA Women’s Player of the Year, UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year and UEFA Women’s Coach of the Year Awards.

For the UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year award, it is an all German affair as Bayern Munich coach Hans Flick, Jurgen Klopp of Liverpool and Julian Nagelsmann of RB Leipzig will square off.

Copyright © 2024 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.


  • GLORY 4 years ago

    What about Raheem Sterling and Gnabry Big question mark surrounding criteria used for selection. Just why I won’t waste my time celebrating these silly awards giving out broadcast flash lights of what these people are all about.

    • pompei 4 years ago

      Especially Gnabry. I think that guy is one of the most dangerous forwards on the planet currently. And he played a big part in Bayern’s successful Champions League campaign. All the three players selected did very well. However, without intending disrespect to Neuer, I would select Gnabry ahead of him.

  • GLORY 4 years ago

    Not forgetting to mention Liverpool’a Mane. Maybe it makes sense to start accepting these awards are only for the western aborigines.

Update cookies preferences