List Of Ballon d’Or Winners From 1956 To 2018

List Of Ballon d’Or Winners From 1956 To 2018

FIFA Ballon d’Or award is awarded to the best player in the world every year. It is the highest level of individual award in football.

The history of Ballon d’Or is not clear but it was initially set up by French publication France Football in 1956, with Sir Stanley Matthews its first winner. It was known then as ‘European Player Of The Year Award’ and the only qualified players for the award are players from Europe.


In 1995, the rules changed and any player playing for any European club could win it. In 2010 ‘Ballon d’Or award’ was merged with ‘FIFA’s player of the year award’ and became ‘FIFA Ballon d’Or’ which any footballer from any part of the world could win and recognizes only one player as the best in the world.

Fifa agreed to pay £13million to merge the two awards, with Messi and Ronaldo the big winners as the then La Liga stars dominated throughout the six-year deal.

Zenith Ziva

The Ballon d’Or lost its ‘FIFA’ tag when FIFA refused to renew the deal in 2016 and it reversed back to an award voted by journalists separate as Best Fifa Football Awards was created.

Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo and Argentina’s Lionel Messi have won it five times each.

Past Winners of Ballon d’Or

2018Luka ModricCroatiaReal Madrid
2017Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2016Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2015Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2014Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2013Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2012 Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2011Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2010Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2009Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2008Cristiano RonaldoPortugalManchester United
2007KakáBrazilAC Milan
2006Fabio CannavaroItalyReal Madrid/Juventus
2004Andriy ShevchenkoUkraineAC Milan
2003Pavel NedvědCzech RepublicJuventus
2002RonaldoBrazilReal Madrid
2001Michael OwenEnglandLiverpool
2000Luís FigoPortugalReal Madrid
1998Zinedine ZidaneFranceJuventus
1997RonaldoBrazilInter Milan
1996Matthias SammerGermanyBorussia Dortmund
1995George WeahLiberiaAC Milan
1994Hristo StoichkovBulgariaBarcelona
1993Roberto BaggioItalyJuventus
1992Marco van BastenNetherlandsAC Milan
1991Jean-Pierre PapinFranceMarseille
1990Lothar Matthäus GermanyInter Milan
1989Marco van BastenNetherlandsAC Milan
1988Marco van BastenNetherlandsAC Milan
1987Ruud GullitNetherlands AC Milan
1986Igor BelanovSoviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1985Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1984Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1983Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1982Paolo Rossi ItalyJuventus
1981Karl-Heinz RummeniggeGermanyBayern Munich
1980Karl-Heinz RummeniggeGermanyBayern Munich
1979Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1978Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1977Allan SimonsenDenmarkBorussia M”nchengladbach
1976Franz BeckenbauerGermanyBayern Munich
1975Oleg BlokhinSoviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1974Johan CruyffNetherlandsBarcelona
1973Johan CruyffNetherlandsBarcelona
1972Franz BeckenbauerGermanyBayern Munich
1971Johan CruyffNetherlandsBarcelona
1970Gerd MüllerGermanyBayern Munich
1969Gianni RiveraItalyMilan
1968George BestNorthern IrelandManchester United
1967Flórián AlbertHungaryFerencv rosi TC
1966Bobby CharltonEnglandManchester United
1964Denis LawScotlandManchester United
1963Lev YashinSoviet UnionDynamo Moscow
1962Josef MasopustCzechoslovakiaDukla Prague
1961Omar SívoriItalyJuventus
1960Luis SuárezSpainBarcelona
1959Alfredo Di StéfanoSpainReal Madrid
1958Raymond KopaFranceReal Madrid
1957Alfredo Di StéfanoSpainReal Madrid
1956Stanley MatthewsEnglandBlackpool


completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.