HomeNigeria National Teams

Otis Names Atosu, Akhator, Kalu In D’Tigress’ Squad For Pre-Olympics Qualifiers

Otis Names Atosu, Akhator, Kalu In D’Tigress’ Squad For Pre-Olympics Qualifiers

LD’Tigress Head Coach, Otis Hughley has unveiled a list of 12 players for the 2020 pre-Olympics qualifiers coming up in Mozambique between November 14 to 17.

Otis has recalled USA-based Upe Atosu, whose last game for Nigeria was the 2017 Afrobasket final win over Senegal.

2019 Afrobasket Most Valuable Player Ezinne Kalu, Promise Anumakara, Atonye Nyingifa, Sarah Imovbioh and Evelyn Akhator have also been included in the 12-woman list alongside team captain, Adaora Elonu.

Others include multiple Afrobasket winner Aisha Balarabe, Ify Ibekwe whose first international debut was at the 2019 Afrobasket in Senegal, as well as Victoria Macaulay.

Elizabeth Balogun who was named in the 2019 Atlantic Coast Conference Fresh Man Team while at Georgia Tech University is also in line to earn her first international cap alongside Pallas Kunnayi-Akpannah who narrowly missed the 2019 Afrobasket party.

Nigeria’s D’Tigress are in Group A alongside host nation, Mozambique and DR Congo while Senegal will compete against Angola and Mali in Group B.

The Otis’ team will open camp on November 10 in Maputo.

According to FIBA, the two group winners will join 14 other teams from Europe, Asia and the Americas to fight for the 10 Olympic slots on offer at the Olympic Qualifying Tournament

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.