HomeNPFL News

Plateau United Players Still Expecting N80m Reward As 2016/17 NPFL Champions

Plateau United Players Still Expecting N80m Reward As 2016/17 NPFL Champions

Three years after Plateau United won their first NPFL title, Complete Sports has gathered that the Plateau State government of Governor Simon Lalong is yet to redeem the N80m promised the club for winning the crown.

The governor had announced a total sum of N80m to the team with each player entitled to N1.5m and N2.5m to the technical adviser, with the Technical Director entitled to N2.7m.

“Three years ago (in 2017) when we won the League, the governor promised to give each player N1.5m as reward for lifting the trophy and thereby making the state proud,” disclosed one of the players.

“We’ve waited for this long, but the money isn’t forthcoming. Now, by the grace of God, we’ve won the trophy again.

“Let’s hope the money comes out this time around”.

An official of the club confirmed that the money promised them three years ago for winning the 2016/2017 NPFL title and representing the country in the 2018 CAF Champions League is not yet released, but expressed hope that the players would get their entitlements.

Also Read: Just Before Kick-Off: The Proposed NPIFL And Legal Ramifications Of A Parallel Professional Football League In Nigeria

“It’s true that the government has not redeemed it’s promise to the team, but you know how government works. I assure you, once government releases the money, the players would be paid their money whether such player has left the club or not because they worked for it,” the official stated.

However, Governor Lalong has congratulated the club for winning the 2019/2020 NPFL.

The Governor was said to have called the chairman of the club, Pius Hemwen to congratulate him soon after the NFF ratified the PPG final table of the league which saw Plateau United emerge champions and Enyimba second with Rivers United finishing third.

Plateau United and Enyimba will thus represent Nigeria in the 2020/2021 CAF Champions League, while Rivers United and Kano Pillars will fly Nigeria’s flag in the CAF Confederation Cup.

By Sab Osuji

Copyright © 2024 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.


  • bro theres no winner in the Npfl this season . they are just going to represent the continent abeg

Update cookies preferences