HomeSports News Extra

Task Force For National Stadium Start Work, Lagos Commissioner joins

Task Force For National Stadium Start Work, Lagos  Commissioner joins

The Ministerial Task Force set up by Youth and Sports Development Minister Mr. Sunday Dare will on Monday commence work with the verification of occupants and identification of illegal structures at the complex, even as the Commissioner for Physical Planning Dr. Idris Salako has been named as a member of the committee.

After so many years of neglect, the Minister had set up the committee headed by the permanent Secretary of the Ministry Mr. Gabriel Aduda to restore sanity to the complex ahead of the planned concession.

Also Read: Etebo Worries over Increasing New Cases of Covid-19 In Nigeria

While inaugurating the committee, Mr.Dare charged the committee to bring back the lost glory of the edifice. “The National Stadium , Lagos holds alot of fond memories for our Sportsmen and other people. We shall no longer allow our infrastructures to lie waste. All our National stadiums shall be put to best use. Abuja and Kaduna are at advanced stage, Lagos has approval for concession. Before the process is complete, we need to restore sanity to the place. So the work of the task force is cut out. In the past , we had interlopers , now it is going to be fixed to serve our teeming youth. The task force will carry out its assignment according to the law of the land.”

The terms of reference of the committee include; carry out audit of approved tenants, verify details of tenancy agreement, come up with list of all approved and unapproved physical structures and approved construction, list of all squatters and their business, investigate staff of the Ministry who allow the presence of the squatters, carry out a detailed analysis of all revenue generated at the stadium and take inventory of all shops and businesses within the stadium premises.

The committee headed by Mr. Aduda has members drawn from the Sports Ministry, Lagos State and the organized private sector. Other members of the committee include Dr. Paul Ohido, Director, Sports Medicine, Barrister Mohammed Danjuma, Director, Legal, Mr. Olajide Ajayi TA. To PS, Mr Sola Aiyepeku, Executive Chairman, Lagos state Sports Commission, Mr Peter Nelson Director, PMI, Engineer Alanamu Abolore , Director FM/FASD, Engineer Okedairo, DD , SFDA, Alhaji Bode Durotoye, DD/ LO, Lagos, Architect Abiodun Owoborode, Executive Assitant to HM, Benjamin Ukwuoma, CTO, FASD, Mr.Adeolu Fasanya, SAO,/ FASD, Mr Kehinde Owopetu, CSW/SM, Lagos. Others are Idris Oloruninbe, and Abdulgafar Idris representing the organized private sector.

The committee has 21 days to complete its assignment.

Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of


Update cookies preferences