Xavi Labels Referee Disaster After Barcelona’s Champions League Ouster

Xavi Labels Referee Disaster After Barcelona’s Champions League Ouster

Xavi said Romanian referee Istvan Kovacs was a “disaster” following Barcelona’s ouster from the UEFA Champions League.

A Kylian Mbappé brace and goals from Ousmane Dembélé, on his return to Barcelona, and Vitinha sealed a 4-1 win for PSG and 6-4 on aggregate.

Raphinha had given Barcelona the lead but all that changed as Araujo was shown a straight red card for a last-man challenge on Bradley Barcola.

“We are annoyed,” Xavi said. “The red card marked the tie. We were well organised 11 vs. 11. It completely changed everything. For me, it’s too much to send [Araújo] off there.

Also Read: UCL: Bayern Dealt Double Injury Blow Ahead Arsenal Clash

“The referee was really bad. I told him, he was a disaster. He killed the tie. I don’t like speaking about referees but it has to be said. I don’t understand it.

“It’s not good going down to 10 players and from that point on it’s another game. For as much as we speak [about the match], the red card marks everything.”

Xavi was also sent off in the second half for protesting the decision not to give a penalty for a Marquinhos challenge on Ilkay Gündogan.

Barcelona goalkeeping coach Jose Ramon de la Fuente was also dismissed.

“That was an error by me, it was my fault,” added Xavi, accepting responsibility for his expulsion.

Copyright © 2024 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.


  • Wale Akinlatun 1 month ago

    Barcelona can no longer use referees to win matches again because of VAR. Let them know how it felt then when they were always getting away with “murder” on the pitch

    • Mindurbusiness Olaosenikan 1 month ago

      Barcelona are just living on past glory.

  • Prince 1 month ago

    I swear the match sweet me I remember when Barcelona murder psg when dei play 6-0 as come back play game reach 100mins just to make sure they will psg

  • As he Dey pain Xavi, he dey sweet us, short man always with excuses, so bcos you are Xavi and Barcelona coach, the rule should change right? Last man obstruct opponent on his way to goal inside the box is a yellow card plus penalty, if it’s outside the bus like today, it’s a straight red card, so what’s this short man crying abt? Both red card and the penalty was the correct call. Trophyless season loading.

Update cookies preferences