HomeWorld Football

2020 Ballon d’Or Award Cancelled Due To Coronavirus

2020 Ballon d’Or Award Cancelled Due To Coronavirus

The Ballon d’Or for the world’s best players will not be awarded in 2020 due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Organiser of the award France Football made the announcement in a statement released on their official website on Monday.

They posited that the cancellation of this year’s award was as a result of “lack of sufficient fair conditions” caused by Covid-19.

Also Read: World Cup Winner Gotze  Voted Bundesliga’s Biggest Disappointment  By Fellow Players

France Football said awarding a prize in a “crippled” year would “not be worthy” of their history.

“We did not want to put an indelible asterisk on the prize list like ‘trophy won in exceptional circumstances due to the Covid-19 health crisis’.

“Protecting the credibility and legitimacy of such an award also means ensuring its flawlessness over time.”

The Ballon d’Or prize has been awarded by France Football every year since 1956.

Barcelona’s Lionel Messi won the men’s prize last year, with USA forward Megan Rapinoe claiming the women’s trophy.

England’s Stanley Matthews was the first winner of the award when it was the European Footballer of the Year.

It was only awarded to European players until 1995, when it expanded to become open for any player at a European club. From 2007 it opened up to the rest of the world.

The 30-player list of nominees is compiled by the editorial staff of the French magazine, with the winner voted for by journalists from around the world, with one representative per nation.

Argentina international Messi won the prize for a record sixth time last year.

completesports classifieds

Fastest Paying Betting Site in Nigeria: Grab your 140% First Time Deposit Bonus Now — www.Sportybet.Com

Copyright © 2021 Completesports.com All rights reserved. The information contained in Completesports.com may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of Completesports.com.



  • Pompei 1 year ago

    If the award was still on, Leo Messi would be a contender, as usual.
    I would recommend these names to contest it with him –
    Bruno Fernandes
    Kevin DeBruyne
    Kylian Mbappe
    Virgil Van Dyke
    Joao Felix
    Cristiano Ronaldo
    Serge Gnabry
    Luis Suarez
    Marcus Rashford