HomeSports News Extra

Alao To Receive Icon Of The Year At Ballers Awards

Alao To Receive Icon Of The Year At Ballers Awards

The Group Managing Director of Communications Complete Limited, Dr. Mumini Alao will be the recipient of the Icon of the Year award at the 2nd edition of
The Ballers Awards.

Alao is recognised for his immense contribution towards sports journalism in Nigeria over the years.

The Ballers Awards aim to honour and appreciate exemplary achievements of Nigerian footballers for their exploits in the preceding year.

A nomination reveal show for this year’s edition was done on 21 January, 2021 hosted by Emmanuel Sabastine and Bellarose Okojie. The show unwrapped names of nominees for the various categories and is available for streaming on all Naijafootballers social media platforms and HIP TV.

The Ballers Awards consist of 10 keenly contested categories which include the Revelation of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, Defender of the Year, Midfielder of the Year, Forward of the Year and five other categories.

Winners in each category will receive a beautiful award plaque.

The fan favorite footballer and the journalist of the year category winner will be decided by inputs from public votes while winners in other categories will be chosen by a jury consisting of seasoned journalists and football administrators including Deji Omotoyinbo, Chisom Mbonu-Ezeoke, Emeka Enyadike, Florence Omagbemi, Segun Agbede, Koye Sowemimo, Akinbode Oguntuyi, Colin Udoh and Edafe Mathew Eseoghene.

Read Also: CAFCC: Rivers United Arrive Porto- Novo For Bloemfontein Celtic Clash

Voting for the public nominations opened from 21st January 2021 and will be closed on 1st February 2021.

Winners will be revealed on 7th February 2021 at the Ballers Awards ceremony which will be held by virtual means due to COVID 19 protocols. It will be streamed live on select TV stations and online.

The award ceremony will be hosted by popular on-air personality and broadcast journalist Nedu Wazobia. A string of other celebrities will also feature at the ceremony.

Last year high-profile attendees at the ceremony included Vice President of the Nigerian Football Federation, Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi, Ex-Super Eagles player, Mutiu Adepoju, Super Falcons captian Onome Ebi, Ex- Super Eagles Media officer Toyin Ibitoye, Sports Media veterans and icons like Deji Omotoyinbo, Segun Agbede, Akinbode Oguntuyi, Oluwashina Okeleji amongst others. Below are the categories and the nominees:

Revelation of the year
Maduka Okoye
Noni Madueke
Tolu Arokodare
Zaidu sanusi

Goalkeeper of the year.
Daniel Akpeyi
Maduka Okoye
Matthew Yakubu

Defender of the year
Leon Balogun
Zaidu Sanusi
Ola Aina
Chigozie Awaziem

Midfielder of the year
Joe Aribo
Frank Onyeka
Wilfred Ndidi
Mikel Obi

Forward of the Year
Paul Onuachu
Victor Osimhen
Simy Nwankwo
Junior Ajayi

Baller of the Year (Male)
Paul Onuachu
Victor Osimhen
Leon Balogun
Joe Aribo

Baller of the Year (Female)
Asisat Oshoala
Ajibade Rasheedat
Uchenna Kanu

Journalist of the Year
Oma Akatugba
Fisayo Dairo
Oluwashina Okeleji
Debola Adebanjo
Shina Oludare
Olawale Adigun
Solace Chukwu

Coach of the year
Ndubuisi Egbo

Fans’ Favourite Baller Of The Year
Samuel Chukwueze
Victor Osimhen
Ahmed Musa
Paul Onuachu
Asisat Oshoala
Maduka Okoye
Odion Ighalo
John Ogu
Wilfred Ndidi
Mikel Obi

Copyright © 2024 All rights reserved. The information contained in may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed without the prior written authority of


  • Dr. Drey 3 years ago

    Honour well deserved. We need more Alaos in our sports journalism industry. Sir Mumuni should please help us raise a new generation of astute and thorough-bred professionals like him. Apart from a few (some of whom are already nominated above for the journalist award) most young journalists nowadays churn stomachs with their reporting. A leader is not successful until his successor has succeeded.

  • Dr Simon 3 years ago

    Bhuari is far better than Mumuni Alao.

Update cookies preferences